Needlework Monday - Suspension "Whale" of polymer clay. Tutorial. Handmade from @elenka

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Hi, Steemit!!!

Greetings dear readers!

Dedicated to all the Whales)))

I hope that the inhabitants of this platform will like my work!

And now I will tell everything in order.

For work you will need:

  • polymer clay blue and white;
  • work surface (I have a tile);
  • dry art pastel;
  • stationery knife;
  • toothpicks;
  • various "stacks" (I have it - crochet hooks, knitting needle, needle, nail file, awl, etc.);
  • accessories for assembly of an ornament;
  • wet wipes;

I cut a piece of blue clay, mash it:

I start to form the body, pressing the clay with my fingers:

Making out the tail:

Now you need to make fixtures.
I press the pins right into the clay and then smooth down the irregularities with a crochet, adding some clay:

She smoothed the prints with a damp cloth.
I make whale fin:

I roll a piece of white polymer clay in my hands.
It should be applied to the whale’s lower body:

Now you need to make a white texture.
For me it turned out to be a difficult stage, because not all tools can scratch the furrows beautifully. I have been smoothing and reworking several times.
As a result, I realized that it is most convenient to use a large needle:

Overlay the ball and shape the eye:

Add texture. I just crochet lightly, and then with a needle:

Now proceed to the tinting pastel.
For this, I pasted several blue and brown pastels on paper.
With a brush, gently tinting the fin, tail, snout and back of a whale:

I decided to make a set for the suspension-Kit, earrings balls.
First, I rolled four balls in my hands.

I made holes with a toothpick, I can not take out toothpicks.

Toning half of each ball with the same pastel colors as whale.

Now you need to bake whale and earrings for earrings.
Directly on the toothpicks, I stick them in a scotch tape and bake them.
It is very convenient when you need to bake several beads:

While the whale and the balls are baking, I remove the excess from the table and prepare the accessories to assemble the decoration:

I take it out of the oven, wait until the blanks cool.
Here an important nuance: the balls with toothpicks need to be removed while the clay is still warm, because if it cools completely, then you can simply break off the toothpick and lose the bead.

Due to the fact that Keith baked on a tile, the reverse side of the suspension turned out to be smooth and glossy:

Some more details.
Covered with whitish colorless nail polish to give it a lively look.
Also from a varnish with large holographic sparkles I took literally a couple of things and stuck it on the tail and fin:

These minor details give the work an interesting effect:

I collected earrings, now I am collecting the suspension:

Decorations are ready !!!

It took me about three hours to complete all the work, along with baking, assembling and photographing.

Thank you for attention!

I wish you all success and great mood !!!


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille


Sort:  

This is quite impressive work @elenka! This type of work seems as if it would take many hours...like all day! It’s amazing this only took you three hours.

I love the way you shaped the whale and then added some shine and sparkle to him. It’s as if he is still glistening from being in the water. I love how you tinted all of the pieces, it gave it more depth and detail! Beautiful work!! Thank you so much for sharing every week! Your work is very intriguing!!

Thank you very much for your beautiful and inspirational words, dear @crosheille !!! The support of creative people is very valuable to me) It really inspires!
I wish you good mood!!!

Hello @elenka, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79