Needlework Monday! - A Handmade Heirloom Lampshade

Occasionally, people ask me to make shades using dresses or other garments that have special meaning to them. The one pictured here is made from a cocktail dress of a friend's deceased mother. My friend held the dress for 30 years and wanted a keepsake, so I made this shade for her.

Please note that the lamp base and finial are for display only as, she already had a base that she wanted to use and this antique lamp base is slated for another restoration project. This was a "shade only" project.

Finding the Right Frame

My friend is not a fan of the "Victorian" style, so I went with this frame called "Gaslamp". The size seems to sit just between medium and small and while still considered a "Victorian" frame, it does not look much like one. It can fit inconspicuously into most home decor, and based on her description of the lamp base that the shade would eventually rest upon, this seemed like a good fit.

Here, you can see the process of the lining being sewn onto the shade.

Pairing of Vintage Fabrics

My friend's parents owned and operated a clothing store in the garment district of New York city for many, many decades. As you can imagine, her mother had some pretty fancy clothes. The material pictured above is from the deconstructed dress she gave me to use. While poorly represented in a photograph, the fabric has metallic threads crisscrossing the black vertical stitching. I think we pegged this dress as originating in the 1970's.

This fabric had such special meaning to her. She looked wistful when she said, "I can still remember what she looked like in this dress". I realized that my job was to make the best shade I could to help her preserve her treasured memories, and that is exactly what I set out to do.

It gets more interesting. In addition to providing me with her mother's dress, she also gave me her wedding dress. Long divorced and having only a son, she had no need for it anymore and she thought I could make good use of the raw silk fabric on a shade someday. Surprisingly, the wedding dress was an exact match in "off white" coloring as her mother's dress. So I secretly added some of her wedding dress onto the side panels.

Very Unique Bead-work

I regret not taking more pictures of the "making" process for this lampshade, but I'm glad to have snapped a closeup of the bead-work.

All hand-strung, this bead-work has some interesting features. In addition to the colored beads being an exact match to the colors in the fabric, I found some vintage long black twisted glass tube beads in the dark recesses of the bead store. Perfect. My photography skills fail me, but you might be able to work out the detail of the very bottom of the strands, which are handmade loops using four whites, one gold, a clear bottom crystal and back again to the black bead. They took forever to make!

For a little bit better look at the fabric on the shade here, I "pumped" the color on the photo in hope that you can see the metallic threads running throughout. Not something you see everyday.

Here you can also get a glimpse of the raw silk from her wedding dress on the narrow side panels.

I used a cotton/rayon black gimp trim on this shade in effort to compliment the black vertical stitching of the fabric. Usually, I never use striped fabric on lampshades because it is very difficult to keep the lines straight on curved surfaces. But in this case, it all seemed to work out well. Yay!

In this picture, the bead strands have been sewn on, and the bottom row of gimp trim is pinned in place.

Notice how the black beads fade into obscurity, giving the illusion of a "floating" lower ring of beads? Crazy fun.

Again, ignore that iron lamp base--I just needed stand to use while I worked on and photographed the shade.

The Finished Shade

Ta da! The shade is complete.

Finishing the story, I took the lamp to work and give it to her. She seemed pretty impressed with it. She did not mind that I added a touch of her dress to the shade, and we mused over how the shade represented two generations of her family. What she said next made me laugh out loud.."Well, I could eventually give it to my son. He could toss a sock onto it and it would cover three generation of our family!"

Thanks for viewing and happy #NeedleworkMonday!

Peace to you.

Sort:  

Stunning work Crystalize.

Thank you so much, my dear! I really appreciate it.

Hi @crystalize. This is beautiful work and the human story behind is very touching too.

Thanks so much, @cryptocariad! I love a lamp with a story! Makes it so much more fun to create when I know that the textiles have personal meaning to the person for whom I am making it.

Breathtaking...utterly, utterly breathtaking! What a gift and what a story it tells.

Thank you, my dear! So nice to have you here!

Wow! This work I really liked! The black finish looks very nice along with the pattern on the fabric.

Thank you , @inna-yatsuk! Those black beads are insane, huh? Love the vintage beads.

Yes, I generally love everything related to needlework!

crystalize that is beautiful. What a great talent. I lose everything about it.

Thank you, sweetie!

wow !!!! you had a difficult task. you did an amazing beautiful thing!

Thank you so much, @Tali72!

I love everything about this lampshade! I love how the black threads compliment the black vintage beading. I do see the metallic threads in the material, love it! I think it was so sweet of you to add in her wedding dress to make the shade a generational treasure to keep in their family.

I actually like the photos you take of your shades. That first picture of the beads was brilliant. The angle of the photo really gave it more flare!

That was pretty funny what your friend said lol!!! I’m so glad she loved it. What a beautiful treasured gift. You are so talented!!!

Thanks @crosheille! This one was certainly a challenge for me. I'm so used to selecting the fabrics and colors myself that it was a little awkward to have it handed to me. LOL!

Lol well you did well under pressure! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59484.75
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41