You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you think before you sew?

For a while now I haven't bought clothes for myself, @neumannsalva... With two of my children at uni and one still at secondary school, there's just too many things to spend my little money on... I make do and get their 'cast offs' :D which is funny.

I love the look and feel of fabrics (and yarn) and get truly tempted to buy too. If I make something it won't turn out great, but then if I buy clothes, they are not (don't fit) that great either so... in the end at least it's your own creation.

I would also just say keep what 'truly' makes you happy and you can combine with existing garments.

If not, you can always give some of your garments away and make someone else happy.

Sort:  

Missing money is 💩💩💩 And I can imagine that it is tough with three children. I think living in Germany is cheaper especially in the area I live in... low rent as nobody wants to live here :-D I still dream that we will get needlework-millonaires 😅
And with the clothes buying or sewing... both are tough. I need since last year a new winter coat (I may have had a little rant on discord yesterday and poor @muscara was the victim) and it seems impossible to buy one for my figure. The coats are all so wide at the top and much too small at my lower parts. Or they have sleeves which are much too small... haaateeeeee. And I do not want to pay for a coat or parka I cannot close over my bottom. And sewing a coat is far beyond me.
And with the giving away: we do this very regularly. I have two girl friends who in addition to bought clothes are the recipients of my 'desaster skirts' 😆 They are both a bit thicker than me (new mamas) and I have made some many skirts with a too wide waistband and which are not tailored enough for me. They are now in loving hands.

Oh... yeah... let's dream about that... I'd be happy to be a comfortably 'well-off' needleworker :D so I could afford more books, yarn and trinkets to try, @neumannsalva... For instance, I'd love to try some of that 'punch needle' embroidery technique.
I'm really lucky that a friend gives me old clothes so I can often 'make do' and 'experiment' making things too :D

I today told my friend Silvia (you know, the artist who often makes my photos) of your career idea: crochet swatch maker. She loved it. We are now thinking intensely of a way to make it reality :-DDD
But without joking, I think it is easier with money/clothes in a bigger city. I live kind of in the middle of three big cities (ok, honestly the whole area is one big city) and here are so many shops with bargains. So, I think people are tempted to buy so many things because you can get ok clothes for extreme low prices, like a jean for 8 €... I for example must admit, I already have a coat, but it is super short and thin, and I dream of a long one. This shorter one was around 20 €. But this opens all the questions about the gruesome conditions of fast fashion (not that I think more expensive clothes are made under better conditions). SIIIIGH!
And in addition to living in this shopping-mall city (joke) I have no and cannot have children, which is super sad, but also it is less responsibility financially. I could not live like this right now if we had children...
So again, I think we have to acquire a #needlework patron :-DDD
Sorry for ranting again...

No worries about the ranting, @neumannsalva, I like reading your comments. The #needleworkpatrons / sponsors / supporters would be great :D
Currently it's just us supporting each but we're small fish in comparison... of course there's strength in numbers right ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75