#needleworkmonday : Camel stitch crocheted hat and knitted cowl/beanie

This week I am showing you a crocheted hat that I made using acrylic yarn (because it's what I had available) and using the camel stitch.

I was so intrigued by this stitch because it looks just like knitted on one side. Thank goodness I found a good tutorial here to clarify the instructions I had read before.

The photo below shows the wrong side so you can see what I mean by the stitch looking like 'knitted'.

The hat is crocheted from the bottom (rim) up. I normally start crocheted hats top down but was up for a change this time.

I read various patterns to try and understand how I could make the hat because I have quite a big head and any instructions will need adjusting and tweaking. Anyhow you can find a bottom up pattern here and a top down pattern here.

I had quite a bit of yarn left so the plan was to knit (not crochet) a cowl using seed stitch in the round. I normally knit while waiting for people so I either had to wait too much or got carried away ... I think the cowl will become another beanie instead... Here's a photo so far:

Nothing spectacular, but that's what I've been up to so far.... What about you?

Sort:  

Turned out great! I love the tweet yarn.

Thank you @creative-life. Yes the yarn looked very good considering its price :) One day I will splash out and buy the proper wool or spin my own ...

I love the beanie you made! What a cute little red heart to add to it! I do like how the crochet stitches look knitted. Your knit work is really neat. I’m trying to get there one day. I have a couple more projects to finish up and then I will be working on my knitting skills to improve them. Thank you for sharing with us today~ 😊

Thank you @crosheille... I have to confess that I tend to go for 'textured' stitches because my plain knit stitch does not look that neat... so that's my trick : avoid plain, choose texture...

👌🏽 Nice trick!

I really like it! And I would have never known it was crochet based on that one side, you're right! I might have been confused when I flipped it over, though ...lol.
My favorite hat I knit for myself out of wool; but the last few times I wore it I got REMARKABLY itchy. I was worried I might be developing an allergy (I have approximately 947.3 allergies), so I was poking around the yarn store and asked if they grouped yarns by fiber, per chance. The lady said no, why? So I explained the newfound itch, and she was super helpful pointing out different fibers they had and said, "Don't worry, you won't be banished to Red Heart forever!" ...and I laughed. I use all sorts of different fibers for different projects (including Red Heart!), but I know some folks are really against acrylic.

I like it! Sweet and simple with the red heart adding just the right touch.

Thank you @anise... yeah I like that little heart too and being February I thought it was 'seasonal' :)

Your hat looks fantastic. Right yarn for the right project. ;-) Acrylic yarn has its place! I love camel stitch (and really any stitch where you crochet around the posts)!

Thank you @luthvarian... I find crochet is really versatile and forgiving... I often wonder who invents the stitches...

Love the idea of having the same yarn knitted and crochetted and comparing the two techniques!

Thank you @mariamelga... It was a very forgiving yarn :)

I think it is fun to have a knitted cowl and a crocheted hat but in the same fabric :) I also like the pattern of your yarn, the spashes of colour make your work look so pretty.

Thank you @thriftymum. I may go for the cowl then... I still haven't finished the project because it went a bit too wide (I felt for a cowl), but I agree with you...

Wow, I thought it was knitting at first glimpse. Never saw a crocheted piece look like that--I like it!

Thanks @colleenthurber... It's a good stitch... the only thing is that if you make something then you'd have to make it lengthways ...

This is beautiful - loving that color! It really does look knitted!!

Thank you @mrscwin. I think it looks knitted and much 'neater' than my actual knitting :)

What an interesting stitch, @crypotocariad! I don't think I'v ever seen it before, and if I have, I did not get a nice close look at it like the image you provided. I love the neutral color you selected. Great job! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you!

Thank you @crystalize. I have had so many encouraging comments.... I am truly grateful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28