My favourite crocheted hat #needleworkmonday

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for #needleworkmonday by @crosheille...

I have been wearing the same crocheted hat for ages (it does get washed I promise). I have made others but this seems to fit just right... I improvised as I went along : just making a big enough circle and then straight crocheting (no increases) until the length felt comfortable and the fold covered my ears.

And yes, if you're wondering, on top of the hat is a needle felted sloth that one of my daughters made about 3 years ago... We both went on a needle felting workshop (I must find some more samples). She loves sloths so that is what caught her fancy. I am so happy she gave her creation to me as a present. I will always treasure it.

I have updated this post to include the super new logo of the #needleworkmonday group.

Sort:  

Your hat is adorable @cryptocariad! I love the pretty purple tones! Looks like you used double crochet throughout?

What a lovely gift to receive from your daughter. I’m sure you’ll treasure it forever :). Thank you for sharing with us today~

Thank you @crosheille. I did use double crochet throughout - I hadn't yet ventured into any different stitches or tunisian crochet when I made it...

You’re very welcome ~ That’s the fun part about crocheting...you can experiment and learn new stitches when you’re ready with any project! I usually try to learn a new stitch when I feel like challenging myself ;)

if the thing you made with your own hands, then you dress for a long time, it means a very good thing!

Hello @tali72. Thank you for your comment... Indeed, if you choose the colour, design and fit of the garment it will surely feel more comfortable and it will be worn longer !

Hi @cryptocariad, and happy #NeedleworkMonday! The colors on your hat are simply perfect! Love, love, love the violets. And that fuzzy sloth melts my heart. <3 Needle felting sounds like fun. So nice to see you here!

Hello @crystalize. Thank you for comments... My favourite colours are purples, violets and lilacs so you're likely to see a few more items in that colour range.

Sounds good to me. Can't wait!

Both the hat and the sloth are cute. Silly question, did you attach the sloth to the hat or is it fully separate. Because sloth hat sounds amazingly cute!

Hello @luthvarian. Thanks for the comment.
Actually, I didn't attach the sloth for fear of losing it (it's too precious to wear) so they're fully separate.

When we attended the workshop where we learnt the principles of needle felting there were so many possibilities that we made a number of things and never finished them (somewhat typical). So every so often I pick bits and pieces and think shall I attach this to something (eg a purse) or make a brooch... Have you done needle felting?

I can understand not wanting to lose it! I do needle felting from time to time. I usually find myself making little felted ork heads for my husband to give away on his live stream.

I would really like to see one of those ork heads... it sounds intriguing - have you posted about them? I'm relatively new to steem and there's lots to learn.

That's awesome! Your daughter did a wonderful job. Who wouldn't love that little thing? The variegated purple is so pretty. Thanks for sharing!

Hello @powellx5. Thank you for your comments... My daughter will be very happy with so many positive comments. Thanks!

Your sloth is amzing!! Much better than my feeble attempts adn the hat!

Are you coming to steemitwales?

Hello @pumpkinsandcats. Thanks for your comments... The sloth was made by one of my daughters.
I am looking forward to the meetup in Lampeter soon !
Hope to see you there !

Love these colors, and the sloth is a cutie, too!

Hello @mrscwin. Thank you for your comment. I must ask my daughter to make another cute felted creature to enjoy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49