Examples of past work : small size knitting / crochet

I was reading a very interesting post by @crosheille on an activity using STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics). You can visit her post here for more details.

The doll and clothes rack reminded me of my knitting, crocheting and sewing outfits for my (3) daughters’ dolls and teddies. I rescued unearthed some and, fortunately, @jen0revision found one of the surviving dolls.

It's a bit shocking for me to think that these dresses must now be well over 10 years old. I don’t have, therefore, a step by step photo tutorial of how I made them.

At the time I tried very hard to find suitable outfits that were easy to use by boisterous children. I also wanted to improve my skills as part of the making process.

I always used 4-ply (thin yarn) and for the raglan sleeve / top down dark green cardigan above I used size 2mm needles (may be size 0 in the US). It was an extremely challenging cardigan to make because of the dark colour I foolishly chose. The pattern was hard to understand too so I realise it's not perfect, but I was proud of my ‘nano’ knitting at the time. I never found small enough buttons to finish it properly, but it was a toy anyway ...

The crocheted cardigan that you see in the first photo was made using a size 2 to 2.5mm crochet hook. That was a really fast project that was also ‘top down’.

Three things were always great when knitting, crocheting or sewing outfits for dolls :

  • It was really fast to complete a ‘whole outfit’
  • The outfits always fitted the dolls (and no zippers were ever needed)
  • The children were always grateful to get new things for the dolls. This was always the point too : to encourage their own creativity by seeing me making and measuring things, and finding ways of ‘making do’ with what we had.

I also knitted companions for their dolls. Actually the little dog below is one of the last doll-related things I’ve made - so it is much more recent dating back to 2011 and here's the pattern.

The dog is supposed to be a Pembroke Welsh corgi, but the ears keep turning forward.

Anyhow, thanks to @crosheille for hosting #needleworkmonday !



all photos by @cryptocariad



Sort:  

Beautiful project. Great thing to do for kids - making something for them, giving them your time and modeling creative, DIY behavior :)

Thank you @steven-patrick... It was very enjoyable and I personally learnt a lot along the way :D

I always admire such small size projects. I would have neither the patience nor the precision for that though I work my socks on 2mm needles ;)

I thought you'd need really fine needles for comfy socks @muscara... Nothing wrong with bigger needles though 😊

Aaawww.. they are so so so so cute @cryptocariad!! And to be able to knit and crochet such tiny garments for the dolls! But it is a cool idea to learn knitting or crochet and be able to see a finished product (if done correctly that is) in a much shorter amount of time :) Thank you for sharing!

Thank you, @marblely... It was really satisfying to finish outfits so quickly 😊

What a fun idea. I was planning to sew some dolls clothes but now might add a cute crocheted cardigan to my list. That dog is so cute though ❤ is it much more challenging than the clothes?

Thank you @thriftymum... The dog was more challenging for sure. The instructions required making and then sewing the legs separately. The finishing was, therefore, the 'fiddly' part :D

Yes, the finishing is hardest on tiny projects. I can still do fine work as long as the colors are not too dark. A bright Ott-Lite lamp helps, too.

oh... yes... I've got a 'day-light' bulb but I love working by the window with natural light... Also I find myself working in the car a lot @fiberfrau :D

It does sound fiddly, but the end product is so fun I think worth it.

Hope you don't have to wear glasses with this project..
Have a nice day !

You too have a nice day @giosou... I actually wear glasses for close work now - age catches up with you... I also have astigmatism 😎

Oh. I have read thet blueburries are helping cure eye diseases . They were used by RAF pilots in WWII.

Thanks, @giosou. I really like blueberries and have a few bushes on our land :D

Lucky you. We have to buy them...

wow! you have a whole wardrobe of small clothes :) I especially liked the dog!

Thank you @tali72... it does look cute, doesn't it? Remember to check the pattern I linked to. You can then see what it should look like :D

the template is just the direction in which we move. otherwise we can improvise :)

I absolutely love your doll outfits! They really look cute, especially on the doll.
I've heard people sell handmade doll clothes and make quite a bit of money, something to think about maybe? :-)

Thank you for your comments @vliet... I had not thought about selling outfits. I will investigate that idea; money = more wool :D

Oh My the little green dress on the roll matches mine from todays blog 👍👍👍 so great and keep it the folks are timeless!

I did notice the colour was very similar, @brittandjosie; we clearly have great taste 😊 !

Guuaaaooo... so cute your work, there it is much delicacy requary
Thank you for sharing!

Thank you very much for your visit and your comment @tahiaarq 😊

😊😊😊 Qué cuchi! Ropita pequeña. Me parece que es un trabajo de mucha paciencia por las dimensiones de las piezas, cuando mencionas que fue realmente rápido completar, yo creo que tardaría... Me gustó mucho el perrito. Saludos.

Muchas gracias @jicrochet. Claro, el chaleco verde oscuro tomó mucho más tiempo que el vestido o el chaleco a crochet... pero estoy segura que con tu destreza podrías hacerlos 😊
Thank you... I agree the dark colour cardigan took a lot more time than the dress or the crocheted cardigan... but I'm sure that with you skills you'd be able to make them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45