You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bright and woolly experiments

Wow I absolutely love these colors! They turned out beautifully! Thank you for taking us through that entire process, it was very intriguing and fun to read! I have no clue on how to help you with that dilemma, I have never attempted dying wool before. Seeing colors turn out so beautiful makes me want to give it a try. Maybe one day ;D

I love the way the colors knit up! Nicely done! 💓

Sort:  

May be a good experiment for home schooling? Young people learn some science (and art - the best home schooling!) - and you have some lovely yarn?

This is a great idea! Thank you!

I'm envious - I would enjoy doing that! I used to love when the kids were small and we would do activities 😍

😄 I have to admit I’m enjoying this stage of motherhood while they are young and full of curiosity!

I learned from fiber friend via Instagramm that she also has problems with setting blue hues and she told me that she sometimes encountered commercial blue wool which also stains her hands during the knitting... I guess I have to investigate more. RIght now I think I will first knit the wool and then try to set the colour again. But as I have so many unfinished other projects, this will have to wait.
As @shanibeer wrote this would really be a lovely project for children. I have found several yarn dyer who use Easter egg colour or even better kool aid. The latter produces such beautiful pink hues 💕💕💕 Sadly you cannot buy this in Germany. Our lemonade powder (no idea how this is called in English) is nearly translucent and you cannot dye yarn with it.
http://knitty.com/ISSUEfall02/FEATdyedwool.html
I am a bit envious at these colours 😍😍😍

This will definitely be a fun project for you to experiment with when you have more time. Thank you so much for this link! I would have never though of using kool aid! I think I will look more into this for a homeschool project! So glad @shanibeer suggested it and you gave me more ideas on what to use :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39