Needlework Monday - Crocheted Ninja Turtle Hats - My Ninja Boys!!!

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

6F517AE8-7EC3-4731-A803-8F8BC1E8EC8A.jpeg

Hello my needlework friends! Welcome to another #NeedleWorkMonday! Today I am sharing the crocheted Ninja Turtle Hats I made for the boys in my family...yep including their dad! Every year each family member gets a new hat of their choice. This year my four year old son suggested I do Ninja Turtles for them. I thought it was a great idea especially since there are 4 turtles and I have 4 guys in my gang. So I got to work with the yarn I already had in my stash!

76582458-994E-42BD-AA3A-6E30E14AF0E8.jpeg

Hiyah!!!!!

I’m proud to say I didn’t use a pattern. This is my own creation based off what I thought the turtle hats should look like. I started with a dc foundation chain because I like my hats to have stretch.

4824BF40-433C-4A13-80DD-F26C79A002E7.jpeg

DC Foundation Chain:

1 .Begin with a slip knot on your hook

2 . Chain 3

3 . Yarn over and insert hook into the first chain and pull up loop

4 . Yarn over and pull through one loop

5 . Yarn over again and pull through two loops

6 . Yarn over and pull through last two loops

You then repeat these steps for as long as you need the chain starting in the loops of the last dc. It’s kind of hard to get the hang of where to continue the dc’s at first but there are video tutorials online that could help you see it better. I keep going until the chain measures the circumference of the recipients head and then join both ends together with a slst. Then I proceed with doing fpdc and bpdc for three rows to make the band.

1C944BAC-57F9-481A-B404-444000B00E40.jpeg

I continue crocheting in the round with hdc in every stitch. I wanted the colored Ninja band to be almost midway up the hat so I had my boys try on their hats so I could measure it right. Once I added in the colored yarn I crocheted 3 rows with it and then switched back to the green to complete the hat.

82FBEA16-AD5C-4593-A544-04BFC7D86C7C.jpeg

Once at the top when the hat is just about long enough I do one row of hdc decreases in every 3rd stitch. Then for the next row I do hdc decreases in every stitch. For the very last row of the hat I do a sc in every stitch. I leave a long tail to weave it in and out of the sc’s so that I can tighten and close the hole at the top. I then sew in all ends.

7D7AC60A-3FDC-4F96-92E1-BFF02E76042B.jpeg

7E3E0E77-ABC6-4165-BFAF-AC92D3BE05C1.jpeg

Once the hat was completed I made the back of the Ninja bands to sew onto the hats. I did a chain 7 and did hdc across for 8 rows. I then started to decrease for 3 more rows to get the point at the end of the bands. I laid the hats down with the center back facing me and just tried my best to get both sides lined up even. I sewed on one side at a time.

B234272C-C9BD-49E9-987A-A16925F41911.jpeg

8E68891D-A2F5-447A-9807-2A6502608123.jpeg

3B4D13B4-2EFC-4D9D-B71D-6453154C1184.jpeg

source

Finally the eyes were last! This picture inspired the colors I chose for each turtle. I started each one with white yarn using a magic loop.

The Sclera (outer white part of the eye):

1 . Using your F hook ch 1 then do 10 hdc in magic loop

2 . Join with sl in first hdc

3 . Ch 1, sc in first 3 stitches

4 . Ch 3, sl in same stitch (this creates the points on the sides of the sclera)

5 . Sc for 5 more stitches and then repeat #4

6 . Sc for last 2 stitches and sl to join

7 . Tighten circle then tie in ends leaving one long tail for sewing on hat

The Iris:

1 . Using your E hook create a magic loop and ch 1

2 . Do 5 sc in magic loop and sl to join to first sc

3 . Ch 1, sc in each st around and join with sl

4 . Tighten circle then tie in ends leaving one long tail to sew into the sclera

The Pupil:

1 . Using your D hook make a magic circle and ch 1

2 . Do 3 sc in magic loop and sl to join to first sc

3 . Ch 1, sc in each st around and join with sl

4 . Tighten circle then tie off ends

Once I had all three parts of the eye completed I then sewed the iris and pupil together. I then used the long tail from the iris and sewed that into the sclera. Finally use the long tail left on the sclera to sew the eyes onto the hat.

3112D66D-E033-4AB4-A140-9D72239E8B00.jpeg

This pic was before assembling

Now you can imagine how hard it was keeping all the boys together to get decent shots of their hats. Here’s what I was able to capture...

80BB9554-4559-4758-AE0D-1BB890650939.jpeg

Runaway Red Ninja Lol!!! Thankfully dad picked him up so I could get a few shots!

BB27C6FF-3CEA-4134-B23C-DA8A017F67AB.jpeg

7C9C6DBC-2566-437C-9D5B-8F7CC30178A5.jpeg

309D65D5-F5AD-41DE-BDCB-D5BFEFEECCC4.jpeg

31A47447-7CEC-4A01-BDC7-3121CAD6EBEB.jpeg

Ninja Dance!

I had fun getting these hats together! I’m so glad my son suggested doing the Ninja Turtles this year. When they wear their hats out together they get a lot of attention and compliments from other kids. They tell me quite often how pleased they are with them. Mom’s Mission Accomplished! ☺️

08FCF12E-C4A4-4EFF-AD51-B3926B331ADE.jpeg

’Project Warm A Soul’ Reminder

Last week I announced our Community Project #2 called ‘Project Warm a Soul’. We will be making scarves🧣 for those that need help keeping warm this Winter season. Once finished with the scarf you will attach a note to it and wrap it around a tree or pole in an area outside where you feel someone in need will find it. For more details please visit the initial post HERE!

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6

Thank You for Viewing!

DAE5E693-7C37-4434-A928-468A3C8FE91B.png

F99F3358-3CEE-4100-A2B1-9B638812C9F7.png

BB3D67FA-A6F2-446F-BFE0-45638CD7BE6A.png

A huge shoutout to @rigaronib for creating my Logo Banner! He was incredibly pleasant and awesome to work with!!! I was blessed to have found him and that he was available to work with me!!! Thank you so much for your lovely work!!! I am very pleased with the outcome!!! 😆

Sort:  

Whoa! matching scarfs, this is so great and well done.
Glad they enjoyed it and good job!
Keep on scarfin'

Thanks so much for stopping in @pouchon and for the compliment! 😃

Aaaww, your boys are so cute! Every year a new hat :D They will need a biiig box for all those hats when they are grown up, haha!

Thank you so much! ☺️ They keep me going! Lol yes I tend to spoil them quite a bit. But the best part is we can give their previous hats away to others in need...it’s kind of a way we teach them how to give. We tell them as you receive it’s good to give as well~ 😊

I really missed this post of yours. They look very cool and funny :-). I think my boys would would to have one too.

Thank you so much! It seems the Ninja Turtles will be a forever hit with the little ones...even for adults because I still love them! 😄 I’m glad you liked the hats and our funny animated pictures, it was a fun day~ 😊

You did it!!!!!!! And so fabulous - with such beautiful and funny photos I cannot keep up. Again, I really like your colour choices (ok...turtles, had to be green). Are this perhaps the so trendy 'juwel' colours :-D
I love that you have written a pattern and it is a big success (ahem... could you please lend me your models they are really cute <3)

Thank you so much my dear!! I’m so glad you enjoyed the funnies and the pattern! I was very thrilled everything worked out okay. I’m not very confident in making my own pattern but I’m telling you, people like you and @tali72 have really inspired me to step out of the box and believe more in myself that I can do it!! Yay and I did! Thanks so much for all the encouragement you have given me!

Lol aww thank you!!! They are photogenic most of the time! 😄🤗

Simply Lovely.
I enjoy how-to posts.

The family is wonderful. I've recently regained access to the pics from the years homeschooling my three sons! Precious Moments.

Heads up...I am about to nominate you for the #sevendaybnwchallenge...I hope you are able to play along.

Enjoy this day!

Thank you so much! I’m so glad you enjoyed my post! 😀 There really are a lot of precious moments. I love being home with my kids.

Oh wow! You’re the second one that has nominated me for this. I guess I better get on it, thank you! So can I start any time? I’m thinking I will start mid next week!

Wow !! What a great idea)) You are a real master! Such a nice band in these hats. I really liked your guys! I want to share this with my friends)).

Thank you so much @inna-yatsuk!! I’m pleased to hear you like them and have shared my post, thank you! The boys made it even more fun for me! It makes it all worth it seeing their faces! 😊

I dont think I could ever get enough of your knitting skills . If I just saved up all your articles on knitting , I could have enough as a reader guider to knitting. The ninja theme is totally cool. The way you knitted in the blind folds I totally liked that. Great work @crosheille

Thank you so much @wondermaey for your wonderful comment! That was such a nice compliment from you! I am so glad you have enjoyed viewing my crochet work. I am so relieved the hats worked out and turned out as I imagined them. It’s so scary for me doing things without a pattern and trying things out on my own. I am trying to get more confidence so I can do it more often. It’s just when you are so used to using a pattern it becomes a crutch. I’ve learned so much from others in this community that I just had to start trying. Thanks again for viewing and commenting ~ ☺️

These turned out great! You are very talented!

Thank you so much for those compliments!! That means a lot! 😊

Adorable! I love those and so nice of you to post how you did them for those people who can follow a pattern (not me). :) LOL! I bet the guys do love them. So cute!!

Thank you so much! I’ve been trying to gain more confidence in trying my own patterns. I am really not that confident yet in writing them up so I’m glad I was able to work it out this time. That is definitely something I want to get better at. I’m glad you liked the hats! 😀

I just saw your logo banner! I love it! It's great and fits perfectly!! :)

Thank you so much!! I really love it too and feel it fits me well!! 😃🤗

Adorable! The ties at the back of the head look fantastic. And I adore that you've got all four turtles represented!

Thank you very much!!! I was SO hoping everything would come together okay and I’m glad it did! Adding the ties on was one of my favorite parts! Thanks so much for viewing and commenting :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64107.62
ETH 3101.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12