Needlework Monday - Crocheted Newsboy Beret Hat - Making Custom Made Items for a Hat Store ~

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

F15F9FF4-01D5-4602-98EC-33168D3634C4.jpeg

Happy #NeedleWorkMonday everyone! I have some really exciting news to share with you today. My mother-in-law being a beautician, has quite a few good connections. She introduced me to one of her hair clients that happened to be the owner of a hat shop. I was able to show her some of my work and she loved it! She asked me to make her a couple of hat and scarf sets that will be displayed in the front of her store. She said I would be the first to have crochet and knitted items on display.

We discussed the terms and she expressed to me she wanted hats with brims. I already had a hat I loved to make that I knew she would like. I decided to make my neck warmers to go with them. I immediately went out and purchased the yarn I needed and got to work in between other projects.

Here are some pictures of the hats before I added the brim and buttons. You could just keep the hat like this and wear it as a beret but I have always added the brim because I love that style...

8F7ED65F-2A66-415C-9EE3-FF65922D1471.jpeg

D127DDBD-E44C-4E62-9105-CBF63258775F.jpeg

62DCA2A5-590B-4FE3-B159-03941439DEB0.jpeg

D9C7DE4B-E2DF-485F-A263-9CC10092B5C7.jpeg

The ribbed sections are what really stood out for me when I found this pattern. It was very unique and nothing I had seen or ever made before.

Here are pictures of the finished hats with the brims and buttons added...

9A6752AD-E662-455D-ACAF-11F0D1A7C93E.jpeg

F0E88126-E335-425B-ACE9-3F61C9C400D0.jpeg

1A746A62-5807-4D37-89D4-15522225E884.jpeg

616F6184-08BE-457E-B5AC-B0891AB73B72.jpeg

2A83E305-360E-46C7-8D33-C8A0AB144E1A.jpeg

Here’s the matching neck warmer.

64A4D8EC-B9D3-4FE7-A3CD-A334E9654870.jpeg

74116FEF-FC4D-484A-9B92-E3D26660F91A.jpeg

324BE23B-818A-4B2A-925D-719A344A5EB2.jpeg

Here’s the other matching neck warmer.

When I brought the finished items to her she was very impressed and pleased with my work. These are her exact words...

These are so beautiful and your work is very exceptional! I hope you are ready to make more custom orders because my customers will love these!

I was really excited to get such a positive response to my work. I will be doing more orders for her as I have the time. Eventually I would like to get up to her store and take pictures of my items in there. I will definitely be sharing those with you all! 😃

I try to always find free patterns that I love but there are times I come by an item I don’t mind paying for. This hat was definitely one of those items I really wanted to make. I started off making these hats in different colors for myself and then one by one my family started asking for one.

pattern source

E5B54910-3291-4B5B-959A-9640E895F59F.jpeg

Community Project #2 Reminder

It is almost the end of February and I know where we live our Spring time starts mid to late March. If you are participating in ’Project Warm A Soul’ please be thinking about when you can get your scarf outside around a tree for someone in need to take home. I will be getting mine out there tomorrow and next week I will post pictures of it around the tree. If you are needing the information again for this project you can get the details HERE!

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.

Thank you for reading!!!

5F3A1C7C-9A92-41F0-9F97-56F75C821581.png

122C2CE3-FEAF-4085-93FC-4AAE0253622B.gif

927AC689-4F33-4624-B4AE-C6D661817EAF.png

A huge shoutout to @rigaronib for creating my Logo Banner! He was incredibly pleasant and awesome to work with!!! I was blessed to have found him and that he was available to work with me!!! Thank you so much for your lovely work!!! I am very pleased with the outcome!!! 😆

Sort:  

Congratulations on having your work featured in a local shop! What lovely sets (and you are a gorgeous model for them!) The buttons are a great touch, too :) What are those blue buttons made out of? They have almost an iridescent metallic look when I try to zoom in.

Thank you so much!!! I really appreciate your compliments! ☺️

The blue buttons are made out of coconuts and have a rich shiny epoxy finish on them!!

Coconuts?! That is awesome :)

I know right?!!!! They are really unique and they are actually double sided. On the back of them you can really see the coconut...they are brown and textured.

Those are some really well made hats! The red ones are really striking and the picture clarity of all the images are amazing.

I don't know whether it is because of the close-up shot but I like the black neck warmer more than the red one, especially if I decide to buy it as a gift for someone. :-)

Thank you so much!! The red is my favorite because of how bright it is. My husband snapped the photos of me with our professional camera in very bright sunlight.

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting with your positive feedback! It’s greatly appreciated! 😊

Love this! It's so adorable and I like the brim and buttons that you've put on the hats. That's great that she loved them enough to want to help you sell them. They are super cute! I am not a hat person, but I bet I could even pull that off...in some cold weather. The neck warmers are really cute too. :) Love them!!

Thank you so much!!! 🤗 I am really excited to see how this goes! I’m glad you liked the set! I’ve always loved big buttons so this is a really fun project for me to do! Oh yes you could totally pull this off!! 😉👍🏽

Congratulations!! Those hats and neck warmers are definitely model-worthy, and cannot wait to see how many orders come in for these - so very pretty!

Thank you so very much! I’m excited to see how well they do too! 😁

Beautiful work! I loved seeing your work!

Thank you so much!!! That means a lot! ☺️

Good for you, @crosheille! It is so fantastic that you are able to find a retail outlet for the quality products that you are making. I LOVE the addition of the brims on the hats. So perfect! Happy #NeedleworkMonday!

Thank you so much!!! I am really excited for this new venture! I’m so glad you like the hats. Thank you for stopping by and commenting!!! 😊

🌺 I really like the shape of the hats and neck warmers and the buttons are a great finishing touch @crosheille - I wonder how long it takes you to make them 🌺

Thank you so much!! I’m so glad you like them!

Oh that’s the tricky part. That’s one of the reasons she knows I will only be able to accept order requests as I have the time for them. With a new baby on the way soon and me trying to get things made for her I am really trying to squeeze in time for everything. I can finish a neck warmer in 2 days if I stick to it and the hats normally take me 5 days if I stick to it. But normally how busy I am with homeschooling and house duties I don’t always get done that quick.

The hats are so pretty to begin with but the brims and buttons really add something special! I bet you will be super busy making these because they will certainly be a hot seller!

Thank you so much!! Yes I really love the brims, I feel like the hat is missing something without them lol! I love adding big buttons, I’m glad she was pleased. I’m not sure how fast I can make more but I will definitely do my best! 😁

Those hats look so cute and warm! You look beautiful in those photos too. 😊

Thank you so much!! I appreciate the compliments! They really do keep you warm. Thanks for stopping by! ☺️😊

Such beautiful photos! I think it is your lovely smile which makes them so unique... ok and the beautiful hats 😂 I especially love the braids (or rips?) How did you make them (with front and back post dc??)
And selling your hats in shop is a great opportunity and I hope you can charge enough, so that it is profitable.

I just thought if it would be possible to make a little brochure with you photos? I think you will sell much better. The photos have such a good and positive aura (not sure if you can say this in English)
💕💕

Thank you so much!!! Awwww you’re so sweet, thank you for that compliment. Yes the ribbed sections is what really caught my eye to these hats. It mainly involves the front post stitch. Yes she and I came up with a reasonable price that hopefully both of us can really profit from.

Making a brochure is a good idea. Depending on how they sell I will make something specifically for her to place in the store by the hats. It will be images of me wearing the merchandise and showing different ways to wear the neck warmer. Thanks so much for your feedback and support ~ 💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46