Needlework Monday - Crochet Princess Tiara & Diy TuTusteemCreated with Sketch.

B9768FBE-DD60-439A-B3C4-9F8B00FDD3DB.jpeg

Greetings everyone! This week for #NeedleworkMonday I didn’t have time to finish up on any projects. I had to take care of my daughter who was under the weather up until yesterday morning. So I went into my crochet archives to share this project from 2013.

It was our daughter’s 3rd Birthday and she wanted to be a princess for her party. Before I go to the store and purchase things I always think about ways I can make things at home and use my crafting resources. I really like gifting with diy projects because they are special and they make the person receiving them feel special.

AF89966D-7D5F-4810-9917-C96B4C9EBABA.jpeg

Sorry the picture is so blurry but this was taken four years ago with an old android cell phone

For the tiara I already had all of the supplies I needed. I had the glitter yarn, headband, ribbon, pink jewels and a hot glue gun. The pattern called for an elastic band to attach the crochet work to but I thought it would look better to add it to a headband that I wrapped with white ribbon. After I finished crocheting the tiara I attached it to the headband with the hot glue gun. When I made this tiara the pattern was free. I looked it up today and now there is a charge for it...but as always I will provide the Link.

6D55D9D4-0A5E-4A90-B5D6-CD456708B233.jpeg

For the tutu I already had the ribbons but I did have to go purchase the tulle and the elastic. I measured the elastic to her waist and sewed it together. I then measured the length from her waist to where I wanted the tutu to end. I then doubled this measurement because you will be folding the tulle pieces in half and then I added one inch for tying the knots to the elastic waist.

Once I had the measurements I begin cutting the tulle with my rotary cutter. I kept each piece the same width (sorry I can’t remember how wide they exactly were). Once I had ten pieces cut at a time I would stop to attach them to the elastic waistband. I put the elastic band around a chair, folded the tulle piece in half, wrapped it around the elastic and secured it with a knot. I kept repeating this until I felt the tutu was full enough. Once all of the tulle was attached I added silver ribbon evenly around it. The longest ribbon was tied in a bow so she would know that was the front of it. The other ribbons were tied in knots all around.

Tip: If you cut your ribbon ends at a diagnol and burn the edges they won’t fray or unravel and they look much neater and crisper.

I completed the tiara in one day a week before and put it up so she wouldn’t see it. I worked on it during her nap time and bed time. I started the tutu the night before her Birthday and layed it out for her to be surprised in the morning. She couldn’t believed I made this for! She just lit up and instantly slipped on the tutu and put on her Princess tiara.

Thanks for stopping by today!!! I hope to see lots of needlework creations today!!! 😀

Sort:  

Lets just hope she stops thinking that she is a princess when she is older lol :-)

Good work you did there, she looks cute.

The description of how you did it definitely shows that it ain't easy to create such a costume!

Ha!!!! She’s spoiled as our only girl anyway! Thank you so much! It really takes a lot of time getting everything together but I love doing things like this so the time doesn’t bother me.

I see you are using your real name now...good I can call you Phil!

Certainly you love it, otherwise you wouldn't present it so proudly here on Steem. You are having fun doing this and you are sharing that with your family (awesome!).

Yes I am using my real name now. I should have used my real name as my brand 2 years ago. But well, some things you only learn the hard way.

Hmmmmm I’ve been thinking about whether to change my profile to my real name. You mind elaborating on your choice to do so?

If I had used my real name I wouldn't have needed to rename my entire design, content and everything else everytime I decide to change the subject of the content.

If I had used PhilipBraselmann from the beginning I could have written about everything I wanted without needing to rebrand everytime I want to focus on something else.

If you have more questions then just ask, I will gladly answer them for you Synth.

Thanks for explaining. This must be a slow day for me cause I’m not sure I understand. But that’s okay no worries. I’ll read your comment a few more times then I’ll maybe get it. 🧐😅

Super cute!!!!!

Thank you! 😀

So cute! I adore my rotary cutter! Such a time saver!

Thank you! Oh yes I love that handy tool, never want to be without one!

What a cutie pie! She looks so happy in her princess outfit!

Thank you!! 😄😊

You're welcome! 😀

I love this!! My daughter would love a crown like that! :) So cute! The silver ribbon really adds to the tutu. I hadn't thought of doing that. I have made a few tutus but this one is super cute! Thanks for sharing! :)

Thank you my dear!! After I finished it I felt it needed more so that’s when I decided to add the shiny ribbon! I think it really adds to it too. 😊

So cute!

Making things is fun, but making things out of stuff that's already around, so you don't have to go buy materials is even better. There's that extra layer of creativity as you work out how you can make something work with what you've already got.

Love it! :)

I totally agree! I love searching the house for needed things first! 😁 Thank you so much!

this is the most valuable gift !!!! because it was her mother. she will always remember the moment when she woke up and saw what was waiting for her :)

Thank you so much! Those are the types of memories I love making with my children :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13