Needlework Monday - Broomstick Lace Infinity Scarf - Crochet Fall Fashion - Layering

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago (edited)

78B4BBD5-CCB8-48D7-A5A2-2D7EA56E34FC.jpeg

Welcome to another #NeedleworkMonday friends! With the Fall season approaching I have been buying supplies and preparing to make hats, scarves and fingerless gloves. My family has already given me their wishlist and some of my customers are starting to place their orders.

Every year before Summer ends, I make the time to crochet myself a new infinity scarf before I get busy with orders. Two reasons I learned to crochet is to save money and to make the designs that I love. If I do not set the time aside I will not be able to do either one of those.

BA592FE7-0D85-4A81-8B3A-69752DE0773F.jpeg

This is a broomstick lace infinity scarf. It looks more complicated than it really was to crochet. At the beginning I was getting nervous because it wasn’t looking so neat . I learned that as you move along you will be able to shape it and make it neat by gently spreading and stretching out the stitches. By the third row I was relieved that I wouldn’t have to start over because my stitches started to look neater and actually look like broomstick lace. 😅 Any of you ever start a new pattern and knew right off there would be lots of restarts or just coming back to the pattern later after cooling down from your frustrations? 🙋🏽 Well I’m happy to say I continued on and didn’t give up even when it was looking like a hot mess lol. I am currently working on my second one and even the first row looks like broomstick lace!!! 💁🏽

1AD2C458-90D0-4107-BFA9-3B554B461014.jpeg

Brittney at b.hooked crochet does a wonderful tutorial on this scarf. You can find the video tutorial and written pattern Here! You will need a size US 50 knitting needle if you prefer not to use an actual broomstick. This a really nice lightweight scarf for beginning of the Fall season. The pattern calls for Redheart Boutique Unforgettable yarn.

223AFB03-580E-4071-8189-2AF8EA293AD7.jpeg

One of the styles I love for Fall is layering. I love that you can stay warm by layering your clothing instead of being covered in a jacket. I paired my scarf with my crochet satin lined slouchy, an Old Navy long sleeve striped shirt, an Old Navy sweater, a Day Trip vest, Calvin Klein skinny’s and Not Rated boots.

I hope you enjoyed viewing my crochet fashion post today! Stay tuned there’s more to come!

All photos taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6

Thank you!

Sort:  

I love the colours. Is that one of those colour changing yarns, or did you have lots and lots of ends to work in? I've heard about broomstick lace, but haven't yet attempted it. It's a very eye-catching stitch. Great job!

Thank you Anise!!! Yes it is one of those color changing ones. Oh my goodness I don’t think I have the patience to change colors too often lol! 😅 That’s why I appreciate yarns that already do that for us.

When I first saw a broomstick lace scarf I was in love and knew I would make one! It’s been about 2 years since that day and I finally got around to it. My mother-in-law challenged me to work with more delicate yarns instead of always working with the heavier ones. I’m so glad I gave it a try. Maybe eventually I’ll attempt working with threads too! 😉

Wow, beautiful scarf! The colors are so vibrant and are perfect for fall. Learning how to knit or crochet is something I'd eventually like to do. 😊

Thank you very much! All of my favorite colors wrapped up into one scarf! 😃 You would Love it! It’s such a stress reliever because it’s so calming. I’ll be doing some beginner video tutorials soon if you want to join in!!!! 😉

That sounds awesome! I'll definitely keep my eyes open for that!

Awesome!! 😁

You certainly got some useful skills, I like the color variety.

Thank you so much! I really appreciate that :) These are my favorite colors all wrapped in one!

That is awesome!!
perfect combination, so romantic..
thanks for share..
upvoted

Thank you very much! 😊

Again, such beautiful photos! The rainbow broomsticklace shawl is superb. I only once tried this technique (because I really love its appearance) but was too impatient to make something bigger than a sample :-D
And you asked if someone restarted a complicated pattern to finish it later… me … no :-D
Either I bite through the pattern or it is lost forever. But I am a hard fighter during the progress, I seldom give up, because the pattern is too difficult. I have a good friend who is completely different. She always works without a pattern and the clothes seldom fit at the first attempt. She sometimes unravels four or more times – I probably would have burned the thing.
By the way my nemesis is a pattern from Doris chan. A beautiful cardi, but for me the pattern is so confusing (with bits of it scattered through a whole book) I never finished it. This object of shame lies now sleeping in the back of my wardrobe :-D
Thanks for your beautiful autumnal crochet post!

Thank you so much! You always give great encouragement and affirmation! I really appreciate your comments and feedback.

I understand about being impatient with projects and about giving up if they are too hard. My goal is to do like your friend does, working without a pattern. We just have to keep challenging ourselves and pick up some of those projects we ran away from :D

LOVE the scarf! You're whole outfit is so cute and trendy!!

Thank you so much! I really appreciate the feedback! It helps me to know if I am on the right track with sharing my fashion ideas. I’m so glad you loved the scarf! Thank you~ 😊

Wow!!!!!! what a beauty!!!!! this is a terrific scarf! I also want this myself !! but I never had the patience for knitting scarves and shawls. are you in the photo?

Thank you bunches Tali!!! Oh you should totally make one! I can see you in one now! 😃 Yes this time it’s me in the photos! 😉

you are very beautiful and you have gorgeous hair !!!!

Thank you so much!! What a nice compliment! ☺️

Great! So beautiful and colourful work! Thanks for sharing. Next monday I hope to join #needleworkmonday with my macrame projects :)

Thank you so very much @evidenceoflife! I’m pleased you liked it! Oh wow you do macrame work? I am so excited about seeing this!!! 😃 I’m so glad you’ll be joining us. Thank you for the follow, I’m following you too now! Looking forward to sharing more with you~

I am so glad too! Actually I already have a post about macrame process - hope you'll like it!

Lol so funny! I literally just left from upvoting and commenting on that post!!! 😄 Oh I Loved it!!! 😉

Thanks a lot! I've already posted pictures from my workshop :) Post with beaded macrame coming soon :)))

Awesome I’ll check it out ;)

Thanks for sharing, very beautiful scarf.

Thank you very much @hope777! It’s my pleasure~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68398.12
ETH 3837.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65