#NeedleworkMonday: Background Report

20181022_134442~2.jpg

I made some progress adding panels of silk to the background of my garden quilt. I posed it here on the wall with the sycamore branch it will be suspended from.

I like the action in that twig swirling up to the left.

I used my usual technique of adding a scrap, then slicing clean edges.

20181022_135112-COLLAGE.jpg Clockwise from lower left: 1. Match edge length of scrap to background. 2. Flip over and pin, then stitch. 3.Press flat, then use rotary cutter to trim off the excess. 4. Ready for the next scrap.

20181014_004949~2.jpg

Each pressed seam will have some embroidery to hold it flat.

20181022_134453~2.jpg

Here is the panel so far. Next, I will add some strip quilted edging. Once the entire panel is pieced, I will move forward composing all of the layers of appliqué and beading on top of it.

Such a meditative process, an oasis of the soul. Just like the garden it represents.

20181022_134504~2.jpg

Love,cat
@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

I love seeing the process of this project coming together. Seeing all of the shiny smooth silk pieces laying down and the pretty stitch work is very intriguing. What a great idea to hang this piece of art with a branch...I love the action in it as well. You’re doing a lovely job and thank you for taking us along the journey ~ 😊

Thank you for your kind words! It is so peaceful to add to it one stitch at a time. <3

Your crazy quilt is going to be awesome! It is coming together in such a cool way and is very pleasing to the eye.

Thanks! I just bought more embroidery threads and I am eager to add them to the collage!

I like this idea very much, @creationofcare. Yesterday afternoon I was walking about outside admiring some witch hazel (fallen) branches and thinking how good they would be as part of a textile piece... At the time I thought of weaving, but your embroidery wall hanging looks great and it gives me ideas - if only I had time though... :D

I was also very inspired by woven wall hangings, my pinterest is full of them! I hope to see your witch hazel wands incorporated into one of your pieces. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71