#NeedleWorkMonday~ more practice projects for the State Fair

20180720_113614.jpg


It's #NeedleWorkMonday!

This past week, my oldest two daughters and I have been sewing up some testers for our State Fair projects.

We wanted to try out the patterns, the fit, etc, before cutting into our official project fabrics.


Hippiedaughter1 started with this sweet twirly skirt. She picked out cotton woven fabrics from my basement stash. She calls it her "picnic skirt", since its strawberries and ants on table cloth checkers. The waist band is made with cotton/lycra knit, which is 95% cotton, 5% lycra/spandex. It has great stretch and rebound!
This pattern is called the Everyday Play Skirt from Little Lizard King.

20180720_143137.jpg
20180720_143146.jpg


Hippiedaughter2 started with this cute handkerchief hem, razor back tank top. This is a women's XXS pattern. We discovered that its still a bit big on her, too loose in the bodice. And the handkerchief style hem is not the easiest for a 7yr old to hem. Since this was made from cotton knit, we left the bottom edge raw (unfinished/unhemmed), as knit will not fray. However this does not look as nice to the judges. So we will try a different hem style on her final piece.
This practice fabric also came from my basement fabric stash.
This pattern is the Free Spirit Tank from Patterns For Pirates.

20180720_165849.jpg
20180720_165910.jpg


I tried out a new pattern myself out of some special fabric!

20180720_113739.jpg

I have been hoarding 2 yards of this sweet farm cotton woven print for YEARS!
About 9 years ago, I went with my parents to help minimize (aka throw out a bunch of really oooooollllldddd crap) my grandparents house so it could be put on the market. They moved near to all of us kids shortly after.
During the purge, grandma granted me full access to claim any of her fabric. Boy did she have a BUNCH!

20180720_113751.jpg

This was one of the prints I brought home. The strawberry print Hippiedaughter1 used, I believe came from there too.
Im not sure how old the fabric is, but likely 15-25 years old.

20180720_113719.jpg

I stumbled upon this sweet pattern from Twig and Tale, and knew this farm print would be perfect for it!

20180720_112834.jpg
20180720_112915.jpg

And of course, my mini model loves her job, as always! Such a ham!

20180720_113609.jpg


Thank you for stopping by for #NeedleWorkMonday!


20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

So sweet!! And I am in love with that vintage fabric!

Thanks! Isnt it cute?!

They all look pretty modeling these cool designs. I am really glad to hear they made it themselves except your mini model. I especially like her fabric and design the most , I cant believe their years gosh 15-25 .thanks for sharing with us

Thank you!
Mini model sure tried "helping"..... A lot... Haha.
I try to only sew when she's napping!

Just to clarify, the fabric is 15-25yrs old, not my daughters ;)

Those are super cute! Love that your two girls made their creations themselves - they did a great job! And love the mini model’s faces - she is so ready to go play! 😉

Thank you! They sure are proud of themselves!

I book marked the Breeze Shirt pattern to sew it in the future :) Your arrangement to use a button with the farm print fabric are really nice. Great work!

I am in love with almost all of the patterns from Twig and Tale! I want them all!

They have a free dress pattern right now if you join their facebook page.

Practice projects. Impressive.

I look forward to seeing the final projects. Amazing what your girls can make with basement treasures and a machine.

Great work done by the girls. And I love the farm fabric, too. I think it's especially nice for children's wear because some of the people on it are upside down - that way they are the right way if you look at them while wearing it :)

Agreed! It made it easier to ✂ put the pattern too, not having to worry with print direction!

Those outfits are so stinking cute. It sounds like you all had some fun doing these together. Your girls are also learning a skill they will use forever.

Thanks!

My mom taught my siblings and myself to sew when we were my daughter's ages. I am the only one who still uses those skills, but they for sure have been valuable!

And here I was under the impression that #needleworkmonday meant knitting! Um...ooops. What adorable children you have. Such pretty patterns. And that vintage farm style is adorable! I also have hoarded fabric. But not from my grandma. WOW

#NeedleWorkMonday is for any crafting with needles. So, knotting, crocheting (even though its a "hook"), sewing, embroidery, cross stitch, needle felting, etc. :)

Thank you! Im quite partial to the kiddos!

Thanks for the clarification! Maybe I'll enter some time

Your girlies are so beautiful!! Just like their mama 😍😘 oh and I loveee hippiebaby's shirt print!

What a perfectly hysterical face your youngest made for you! She'll go far. I love that little shirt you made. I love the fabric, and it's story! I also super love the simplicity of the pattern.

And what's not to love about a twirly skirt and an handkerchief hem? Your girls chose well! The patterns do match their personalities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29