My Favorite Knit!

Happy #needleworkmonday, one and all! This is the Miller's Daughter's Shawl, one of the most challenging and more rewarding knits I've made. It's knit up in The Yarn Collective's Portland Lace, in the colorways of On The Sidewalk (dark grey), Sheepish (light grey) and Saturday Knit( pink), one skein of each.

MD5.jpg

There are so many things I love about this pattern! The design is so fresh and modern; it combines lace and colorwork and pattern in a way that's not overwhelming or old-fashioned. I love the look of lace, but it can so easily go into grandma territory. Melanie Berg (Mairlynd on Ravelry) designed this pattern and many others that are all cool, modern uses of color and texture. She's one of my favorite designers!

MD detail.jpg

The pop of color, the beautiful diamond lacework, the playfulness of the shawl--it's just too good! I wear it all the time and am already picking out my future shawls. If you're interested in seeing more of Melanie Berg's designs, check out her Ravelry page.

-----------------------------------------

On a separate note, I've been dreaming up posts that I would like to do in the future. In fact I was preparing one such post for today, but due to technical difficulties and a very busy Monday afternoon wasn't able to make it happen. But in general I'd like to do more how-to, tutorial style posts in which I'll be able to share some of my knitting knowledge with all of you. Ideas for future posts include topics like Cast-Ons, Cabling 101, Lacework 101, Colorwork 101, etc. What would you guys like to see? Anything you're eager to learn to knit? I'll do my best to help. Until next time!

needleworkmonday logo.png

Sort:  

The shawl is very beautiful! I love the colour combination of grey and pink.

Thank you!

I would love to learn how to knit lace!

Great! I'm happy to see so many are interested, I'll definitely have to get working on some of these ☺

Hey @creative-life! It's not lace, but I put together my first knitting tutorial and thought you might enjoy checking it out! You can read it here

Good that you wrote me a message! I read your post, it turned out good! I will start posting regularly from Sunday. I will also be more active on Steemit and look into your account regularly. But feel free to write a message when you write a tutorial again. Sometimes I dont see the articles because my feed is full of resteems and crap ;) I will try to post on every #needleworkmonday, but plus more days in the week.

Oooh I look forward to your posts!

That is a very gorgeous shawl and I love the colors together! I think it would be great for you to do tutorial videos! I have only seen a few do knitting ones so that would definitely add to the community. 😊

Wonderful! Now I just have to set aside a day to put them together . . . Every week I say I will and then get caught up with life ☺

Thanks for the encouragement @crosheille, I sat down today and made my first tutorial! Maybe you'd like to check it out here :)

Absolutely!! Awesome I’ll check it out soon!!! Good for you!! 😉😀👍🏽

I love pink and grey - this combination is subtile and modern at the same time. I recently made a light and dark grey cardigan and used pink buttons..hopefully I will post it next week. Your shawl looks really amazing. I love the curved form and the mix of lace and lines 😍
And I am also very interested in tutorials. I started to make some very easy ones about casting on for combination knitting. Sadly my spoken English is 💩... so for now I will only make videos without voice 😆. I would love to learn from you...for example I tried to do stranded knitting and some easy lace pattern - I would love videos about this topics.

Thank you @neumannslava! Yes pink and grey are such a great combo! I like grey and yellow as well. I've seen your posts and I think it's so cool your making them! The Combined style confuses me (I knit Continental) but I bet that you're one of the few people making tutorials for anyone who knits like you do, so I think it's a great resource!

For me the western continental was not so good. My knitting rowed out, because I purled to loosely. That was the reason why I tried new knitting styles. But I am fairly new to knittng, maybe I have to change the style again, because most pattern are written for the western method.

Yeah I've definitely become more aware of tension because I tend to knit loosely too.

Hi @neumannsalva . . . so it's done in Continental style, but I did make my first tutorial. Everyone was so encouraging that I just couldn't resist! Maybe this'll interest you, you can check it out here

I'd love to know more about cast ons (and bind offs) and which ones are suitable for which types of project. Thanks!

ps love the shawl!

Great! Thanks for the feedback ☺

@Shanibeer, I've got one for you! A seed stitch project from start to finish, including casting on and binding off. Hope you like it! Here's the post :)

Oh, lovely, thank you! I was looking for just that kind of pattern. I need a good source of wash cloth cotton in the uk - any ideas, anyone?

hmm, in the UK I'm not sure. I saw your recent post on Liberty of London--they don't have any?! It looks like a huge selection of knitting supplies! Most yarn shops I've been to carry cotton yarn so I would bet it won't be hard to find :)

Liberty's have cotton yarn but quite high quality, expensive for a washcloth that may not be around for long. The Knitting & Stitching Show is coming up soon, I'll have a look at the suppliers there.

This sounds like a fantastic idea, @colleenthurber! I know the community will love what you do. Beautiful scarf, by the way! Happy #NeedleworMonday!

Thanks @crystalize!

Thanks for the encouragement @crystalize! I took the plunge and made my first tutorial today, you can check it out here if you're interested :)

That colour combination is beautiful @colleenthurber.
To me edges and borders are important, ie how to avoid rolling / curling in the knitting and to finish projects in a neater way.
Thanks and look forward to your posts.

After those shawls of yours @cryptocariad I think this might be a bit basic for you, but I made my first ever knitting tutorial and I'm excited to share it with you! You can read the post here, I hope you like it.

P.S. I'm working on a project right now in which I'm learning how to make edges lay flat. I'll share more soon!

Thank you @colleenthurber ... actually I would call them 'scarfettes' because they're shorter than they should be ...
I have seen your video tutorials and they are very good... I will bookmark for future reference too. Will you be using d.tube at some point ?
Very clear !
Thanks

Thank you @cryptocariad! I don't know anything about d.tube yet but I suppose it's time to look into it.

Thanks @cryptocariad! Bind-offs and finishings, check

That a nice piece of knitting. Must have taking a while 💯🐒

Not sure if you're a knitter, @vibeof100monkeys, but if you've ever been interested to learn you may enjoy my latest post here. It's my very first knitting tutorial and explains some of the knitting basics. Hope you like it! :)

I did try a few years ago (well ten ish) Started ok then ended in a whopping knot. I take a look though 💯🐒

Beautiful work! I am in love with that shawl.

If you've ever been bitten by the knitting bug (or the want-to-knit-bug), you might like my latest post! I don't usually go around announcing them but it's my first ever knitting tutorial and I'm really excited to share it. Hope you like it, @walkerland! :)

Thank you I will check it out. I am a "beginner" knitter with very little know how or skill. I love seeing how things are done and I need to learn so thanks!

I hope you find it helpful!

The tutorial is wonderful, really well done! It's a bit advanced for me but I appreciated it all the same. I hope they do well for you and that you continue to provide them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45