#NeedleworkMonday...Mending as a Love Song

It's not Monday, but I'm not going to let that stop me!


Handwork is an Act of Love.


KIMG2268-01.jpeg

This Language of Love has been passed from one generation to the next, again and again in my family, and many of yours.



KIMG2273-01.jpeg

To mend clothes is to sing a Love Song.


I count myself lucky that I have a man who will wear mended clothes. I love that I have the skills to perform this task.



KIMG2276-01.jpeg

As with everything in life I usually try to throw in a Something Special. A way to give meaning to the mundane. I am an Artist, I create a beautiful Love filled Life.



KIMG2294-01.jpeg

I added a heart patch as a Something Special upon one mending job, and well...it's become tradition.



KIMG2565-01.jpeg

How is your Needlework a Love Song?

Share your Stories...

KIMG2293-01.jpeg


~all text and images are my own




Just a girl...
Living, Loving and Dancing her way to Wholeness with the help of a Mountaintop and a Purpose.

Follow the Adventure

@borrowedearth


DQmNouEDFYRmvhF1BSvgeeeZBx4eqbi99sfAgRWsn15c36g.png

Homesteaders Online

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

I can remember when I was a kid and my mom would put a patch on our jeans... kind of embarrassed but NOW... patches and hole-y jeans a popular- go figure!

i absolutely love this! I mend everything I can get my hands on. After it is no longer mend able, it becomes pot holder material, quilting squares and then rags!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
TGIM lol

Yes...my fiber studio is the final destination for most things fabric...I am a patchwork gal! Shredded rag stuffing happens too... And dog toys!

Missing my steemit friends, like you, Spring has sprung and I cant stay inside! Hopefully, I will have some rainy days soon to catch back up with folks.
Hugs

@borrowedearth, your post made think that most of my mending tries to 'hide' the hole / imperfection... I like your post because the mending becomes something else ' an improved version of the garment '...

Thank you. I fight daily to rise above a need for unobtainable perfection taught by by mother. A shift of perception is often all it takes to open new doors.
Hugs

Goo job @borrowedearth! I also did mending recently on my daughter's pant :) I was happy to extend its life a bit.

Nice job! Extending use time is something that has great value to me, perhaps its how my grandparents taught those values...
Sadly, I was unable to give this same generational lesson opportunity to my boys... Well, older folks were in their lives, but not their own grandparents... I think they received more of a connection with community rather than family... Ultimately belonging is belonging. Love is Love.

sadly its not...the last time i did any sort of needlework was back when we would crosshatch or fixing buttons lol

Did you ever take sewing projects to the 4H fair? I know your brother did.

I focused more on art & smaller projects like rocketry & then I also did archery
Nate was sewing & photography

Such a lovely tradition. I ❤ it!

I love wearing "mended" clothing. Your man knows you love him. LOL Thanks for sharing.

This was great inspiration!!! I love seeing posts that make old things into new by showing the pieces some love. I have to admit that before Steemit I was quick to want to throw things out...now I have a new outlook on that and ideas to save the old!! 😊 Thanks for sharing~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44