Cool Project... Hunting Blind (part one)

Hello Fellow #Needleworkmonday Lovers

I am sewing today. I have been planning this project for a few weeks and today is the day.

The day to sweat beneath yards and yards of vinyl while I crank out this new project. HAHAHA

KIMG4959-01.jpeg

My neighbor picked up a tube frame storage shed for a sweet price. He doesn't want to use it as a shed. His plans are to turn it into a Hunting Blind.

I have been hired to customize it with six shooting windows.

The first step was a visit to discuss the project. Where to place the windows, how large, and to address some accessibility issues he has.

Today the customization began. I will be using velcro to close the windows, having them open into the blind and toward the ground.

I chose to use sew on velcro. I about squealed with delight when I saw this was not a tenting material and would not fray.

KIMG6660-01.jpeg

I picked the toothed side of the velcro for the tent body and the more flexible for the window piece.

I pinned the tent side velcro on three sides of the opening. I then added a fourth side of bias tape, hoping to add some stability and keep the velcro from ripping at the corners from the weight of the window piece.

I added a loop hanging beneath the bias tape to use in a tent style toggle fastener to hold the rolled window piece when open.

I then sewed all these pieces on. I did not enjoy juggling this monster around my machine. It had me missing the old days when I had a machine from a sail loft.

Well...

The heat and humidity got to be too much this afternoon. I got quite a late start. I will be getting an extra early start tomorrow before the heat sets in.

Promising more tomorrow, just wanted to actually post this on #needleworkmonday! Hugs



~All Text and Images Are My Own~


Just a girl... Living, Loving and Dancing her way to Wholeness with the help of a Mountaintop and a Purpose.

Follow the Adventure @borrowedearth


tribe-steemup-banner3.png
Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

This is a good start, looks like you will end up with a functional blind from this. :D

Thanks! I hope so... Time is a ticking he wants it in the woods by the end of the week, fall seasons are just around the corner.

Always good to have it there early, so it us old news to them when the season arives! It also hegins to smell like the woods after a few weeks.
:)

That looks like the sort of job that gets bigger as you start doing it! Hope you have some cooler weather today.

Most definitely! I hope he likes it, I would love some venison as a thank you tip, he makes a fine sausage.

Wow what a big project you are working on! Thank you for sharing what you have done so far! Do keep us updated!! 😊

It is Big! More later today, I woke up with a design concern grabbing my full attention this morning.

What a project! And vinyl on a hot day too!

When you said velcro, my first thought was the ripping sound it makes when separated... and wondered how that would work in a hunting blind...

Yes..
That is where some of the accessibility issues come in. Fine motor control for zippers is not there
I think the plan is to park it for a season and leave it, the multiple windows are just options for different spots as the ground isn't very level here, many directions of possibly after putting it up.

Looks like a great project there.... Is it to be used as a weekend / temporary blind or semi permanent?

I believe the plan is to place it hunting season by hunting season. I truly hope it is substantial enough for that, that it is designed to be an outdoor shed should help it weather the time. Thanks for commenting @preppervetuk

That is a neat project @borrowedearth! Cannot wait to see more of this.... 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83