A Sister's Love... The Dress Alterations Begin

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

KIMG5102-01.jpeg

Here's a special Thursday edition of the ongoing story of A Sister's Love.

In today's post I will share some pics snapped by my Love as my special sister friend up the road helps me begin the Alterations on my Maid of Honor dress.

My hubby was manning the camera. I had fun doing some creative editing as the conditions were less than favorable for photography.

KIMG5077-01.jpeg

The ones we collectively ended up with are beautiful. They captured the afternoon perfectly, as a time old tradition.

Alterations are an old art. The days of having a garment fitted to your body are mostly gone by.

KIMG5091-01.jpeg

I have been approached by the old woman at the local quilting store to be available to those inquiring about alterations. Apparently, the 90 yr old woman who was doing them locally has finally retired.

I do alterations and repairs for friends and neighbors. Yet as a job, I would be giving away my time. It is something leaving the culture. It's becoming a lost art.

KIMG5107-01.jpeg

Until the day I learn to make a personal dressform, alterations like these take the help of a friend.

She helped me mark the approximate places to place the seams. The rest is up to me...

I plan to continue this tale for #Needleworkmonday. Check back, or let me know in the comments and I will happily Tag you!

KIMG5079-02-01.jpeg

Interested in Catching Up?


Gardening Top UpCycle Inspired by A Sister's Love

...most of us have heard of the term Farmer's Tan... well...that is nothing compared to the reality that is my Life. Homesteaders can be spotted from twice as far away as a Farmers! I will spare you the pics!

It's Finished and Functional... Gardening Top Upcycle

It was a straight up miscalculation from the beginning. I forgot to subtract for the opening. Sigh! Oh Well... Carry on. I make a plan, but I accidentally deleted the pics of it. Lol


~all text and images are my own unless otherwise credited




Just a girl...
Living, Loving and Dancing her way to Wholeness with the help of a Mountaintop and a Purpose.

Follow the Adventure

@borrowedearth


DQmUhMRZf8MSMtkBru146FvBgHki8DDjCwp2QFGKGWDxzfG_1680x8400.png

tribe-steemup-banner3.png

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

DQmNouEDFYRmvhF1BSvgeeeZBx4eqbi99sfAgRWsn15c36g.png

Sort:  

Alteration does seem like a dying art, but I find that it's a perfect way to inject new life into an older or ill-fitting dress.
I actually cannot sew myself, but always go to my dress-maker for these kind of things.
Can't wait to see how your finished dress will look like!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87