THANKFUL FOR THE NEEDLEWORK MONDAY

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago

image source

I am writing today, to say how wonderful it is to find needlework Monday.  

I have been doing a lot of sewing for the last 43 years, I had a little shop where we made all the clothes and I could not keep up making enough. It was a wonderful time in my life.  

My husband was transferred to another province then and, I had to leave everything behind, as it was very important to me to be with him.  We have been married now for 48 wonderful years.

He is the one who sent me to dressmaking and design course after my children went to school. 

I had met him in Potchefstroom where I did my nurses training, but I never went back after my children were born.  So I am so thankful to him for letting me do a diploma in the one thing I loved doing very much. 

It made it easier with the children as they were growing up and I could be a mother to them until they went to school.  I also did a year of upholstery as I think it is a very rewarding feeling. 

There is nothing nicer than seeing something change the way you want it.  I taught design at the technical collage for a long time, and realised then how few people know their multiplication tables.

 After the class I told my husband how difficult it was for some people to make a pattern as this was part of the course.  The reason why they struggle is just pure maths. 

He laughed at me and said what made you think that a child who does not know his multiplication tables would know them when they grow up. 

I felt so stupid but I told everyone to bring a calculator as it is important to know how to make a pattern to fit your body.

When you see your handiwork you are fulfilled with passion for this is how you wanted something to look. I only found this site over the weekend and have no idea if I could do this. Actually my daughter found it and told me

I am not quite up to date on if it is only on Monday, as that would make sense so that whatever you are making does take time and you have to take pictures and explain what you are doing. 

I will put a few pictures in here of some clothes that I have made. I make my own clothes, as I don’t always find what I want.

I really love jackets and have found that upholstery material make the nicest jacket.   

Everyone you find might not like it but they look lovely to and, they really last forever. 

I do not know who started this steemitneedlework sight but thank you.  If I have it wrong, please help me as am I not a young person anymore, and let me know if it just Monday and how to join the group.  I had been thinking of this for a long time, but as I say I am old and write a lot for steemiteducation. I do not know if you have a special picture to all saying you do needlework. I saw your beautiful logo and copied it hope I am not in trouble.



 So here are a few of my jackets and if possible let me know.  Have a wonderful day. Thank you for this site.    

      

Sort:  

Awesome dear

While I am not a person who sews, I do follow many members who are involved in the needlework Monday. I love scrolling through some of the posts and seeing how beautiful the crafts and clothing are.

Thank you for visiting I am so happy to see someone who read a post.

Hi @bigbear,

Thank you for sharing your lovely post and congratulations to both you and hubby for a wonderful 48 years together. Guess what, this is my first comment in Steemit and I chose to comment for you because your story is one I will remember for a long time :) I have a soft spot for mandarin collars and your dress and jackets are stunning. Looking forward to reading more from you and I am truly inspired by your passion and love for your husband, family and needlework. I hope to be able to sew a dress and a jacket in my future. Its all in my head right now, fingers are too afraid to cut the fabrics wrongly and waste them :D Need courage and like Nike says, Just Do It! Thank you @crosheille for starting and putting this together! I hope to post something soon :) Have a lovely week ahead @bigbear, @crosheille and to all following #Needlework. This is awesome!

Thank you so much for being so kind, never be afraid to do anything. I use to start with very cheap material in case of mistakes. Once you have found out you can use the material you like.
It is a awesome feeling and I can assure you it makes you happy. Thank you for your lovely reply.

Hi @bigbear,

Thank you for your encouragement. I will definitely give it a try :)

Thanks for sharing such a beautiful unique work, especially choice of design and also selecting nice clothes for art, its perfectly and beautifuly done the work @bigbear
I resteem the post because its awesome work...

Thank you, it is very kind of you, and I was a bit worried that I am going to do something wrong. Some people on steemit may be unkind if you just jump in but so far I have only had wonderful comments.

Welcome to #needleworkmonday, it's good to have you here. People usually post on Mondays and then we all get a chance to see what everyone is doing. It is supported by @crosheille - I'm sure she will be along later to say hello!

Thank you so much did not know if it was wrong to just fall in.

Beautiful clothes for yourself individually. You know what you want. So you did things that you wear with pleasure. You did very well!

Welcome! wonderful work !!!! I especially liked the jacket

Thank you so much it is very kind of you.

I used to sew and loved to make dresses. For awhile I toyed with doll making as an art form, but really just found I needed too many things with me at all times to do it whilst doing digital art made it easier to 'take my studio with me'.

I am finding more and more people turning to sewing and needle arts though and I love them, both fashion making design as well as needle point and fabric arts. Lovely work and great story that your hubby so supported you to follow your dream.

Thank you so much, he is a wonderful man, and I am blessed. Sewing is wonderful but I do pottery as well and that is very fulfilling. Thank you for your wonderful comment.

Hello @bigbear and welcome to #NeedleWorkMonday! I will first address your questions about the tag. I created this initiative about 6 months ago for us crafters to get together to share our work, support one another, share ideas, tips and patterns and to be a community of inspiration here on Steemit. Anyone is welcome to post on Monday’s using the tag! You are absolutely welcome to use the logo as you have done in this post, that’s what it was made for. @crystalize is the co-chair of the #NeedleWorkMonday initiative and she and I together keep things organized, making sure others don’t abuse the tag (using it for irrelevant posts) and we both along with others go through all of the posts on Monday’s to support, give feedback and encouragement. It is because of her we have a logo :)

You were correct about the Monday posting. I decided to make it just a Monday initiative in order to give time for making our projects and taking process pictures to share them. We all know any type of handiwork takes time so it has really worked out well this way. So anyone that does a craft using a needle (crochet, knitting, sewing, embroidery, upholstery, cross-stitch, needle felting etc.) are welcome to join us on Monday’s ;)

Now about your post, I am so glad you came across us and are joining in. Congratulations on 48 years of marriage, that is Beautiful and very rare these days. We are going on 12 years this year and I look forward to celebrating many more to come with my husband. It’s really great how your husband supports you and has allowed you to follow your passion and gain a great skill.

Thank you for sharing some of the work you have done. That jackets do look very sturdy and it does look as if they will last a long time! I really like the dress too! We love coming along with you on projects so don’t feel you have to wait to post about a project until after it’s finished. It’s exciting seeing a project come together so feel free to post about your process and using pictures along the way.

Thank you again for being here and sharing with us today! I look forward to seeing more from you :)

Thank you for all the trouble you went to and the lovely answer you shared with me I really appreciate all the trouble you went to.
I would really love to work with you and thank you for the compliment.
I normally write a series but maybe it is time that they come to an end.
This is very exciting to me as I have done most of what you share above.
I also will enjoy this very much and will be back as soon as possible. It is very nice to meet new friendly people.
Thank you so much have a wonderful day.:0

You are very welcome and it was no trouble at all :)

I am so glad to hear you enjoy doing those things I mentioned...you will have a lot of fun then and meeting some wonderful people that share like passions. You have a wonderful week and I’ll be seeing you around ;)

Wow, you have really golden hands to sew!!! Jackets are really difficult to create and these are are fantastic!!!!

Thank you my dear friend for such a wonderful compliment. I really love when I see you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82