Hello Monday! I kinda wish you were Tuesday...

UGH!! I just deleted my whole post ...this computer drives me insane. Probably the number one reason I resist blogging more.

But, I am trying to make an effort to be more present here.

Let's just say nothing I deleted was important and get back to it.

I will explain why I'd rather it be Tuesday, though.
If it were Tuesday, I'd be on vacation! Instead, I have one more day at the ol' salt mine before kicking my heels up for a week.
So far, I have an exciting day of running errands (dump run, gas up the car, last minute shopping and packing for the trip...that sort of 'exciting' stuff) planned for Wednesday. Probably a nap on Thursday since we fly out of Boston at 10pm that night. I am insisting that Friday be our Rock and Roll Hall of Fame day. Then I'm pretty much just going with the flow until we get back. Next Tuesday I'm headed to Providence to visit my friends in their new house. Wednesday, my last day of vacation, will probably be me, a dozen doughnuts and some tv (I've kinda of been jonesing for some Christmas movies!).

As for today...Monday...I do have some needlework to share!

The wedding gift.
It started a few weeks ago, but I was just not feeling it. I was using another one of my scrap felt circles, but as I worked on it, it was just too dark. Especially for a wedding gift!
bt1.jpg
The 'true love' part was added after I started working on it, as I really felt it needed something. I'm not great at text, so I try to avoid it.

With the revision, I just went with their names. Originally, I thought 'true love' was cute because I did not like the initials option:
T.A + B.O. no way
T. B. um, no
And I always thought the bride's name/initials go first in these sorts of things?

Anyway, I didn't really leave myself enough room below the date to put 'love'...the letters are just too round.
bt2.jpg
'Bill', on the other hand, fits just nicely.

Tracy's dress was plum colored and her flower girls wore dresses in a couple shades of green.
bt3.jpg
Colors I happened to have in my kit!

bt4.jpg

My favorite, chain stitch, for the heart. Satin stitch for the arrow and date. A couple French knots for the dots. Back stitching for the names.
bt5.jpg

bt7.jpg

I just used a bit of muslin I had, so I ironed on some interfacing to hold everything in place and add some strength.
Then I bought a plain bamboo hoop to hang it in.
bt6.jpg
The trouble is, once I got home, I realized the hoop was missing a rivet and the clasp was loose! The next day I went back for a new one, but I had apparently picked up the last one. And our Jo-ann fabric store is always 'stocked' like it's their last week in business, so they have yet to restock them.
I only keep checking and holding out hope that they'll have more because
a) I have a coupon, and
b) It's 2 doors down from where I work, so I don't have to make a separate stop.
My coupons expire tomorrow though, so I may be stopping by Michael's during my vacation.

So that's what I've been up to since last Monday. I loved checking out other #needleworkmonday posts today!

Sort:  

The stitched gift looks great, the felt was definitely too dark. Their names fit so well!

Yes, I loved the grey for the elephant but just not suitable for a wedding. I am such a lazy crafter (and I hate shopping) that I will use just about anything to skip a trip to the store sometimes. haha

eek! I've deleted my post before not fun!! Not sure if you'll be interested but I use https://bear.app/ to draft my posts so I can just copy and paste into the browser <3 be well friend!

oh yes! thank you! I have had this laptop for several years (to replace my old gateway) but I hardly use it. It's so sensitive and stuff will disappear or the cursor just moves and I end up deleting whole passages or start typing in random sentences. I will definitely look into that. though what I should really do is just get one of those steemit apps for my phone and cut the computer part out completely!

This is a lovely way to commemorate a special occasion. I like the technique you chose for stiffening the fabric. Hope everything turns out as you wish (including your posts)!

Oh no deleting the own post... no fun (I tend in such moments to have visions of intense violence against the computer 😆) But so nice that you nevertheless wrote this post and I love your embroidery. I am a bit impatient and embroidery is a big mystery for me - it seems so difficult. I am sure your present will be well recieved.
I cross my fingers for your coupon and the frame and hope you get a relaxing donut day (I would like some with vanilla cream inside - hmmmm yummy - some... could you press some donuts into the computer please? 😆😆😆)

oh my gosh. when my aunt and I first moved away from home and into our first apartment together we used to get a dozen doughnuts...half of them were vanilla creme!! haha
as far as the confusion of embroidery goes, I have a giant book of stitches and even trying to figure out the descriptions of how they are done still gets me. Right now I have about 6 stitches I feel comfortable with...the rest I am trying to learn along the way.

YIKES! You are not alone I’ve been there before and it stinks! I’m so glad you pushed through and were able to complete your post!

I love the revision, it’s beautiful and neatly done! I’m sure they will love it!

I hope you enjoy yourself!! Relax and have Fun!

I hope you get that replacement hoop in time!
Isn't this situation some sort of Murphy's Law in action...?

Enjoy your vacation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81