Filet Crochet Project - Needlework Monday

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Soon after I started to crochet with thread I beceme interested in filet crochet, which is done primarily with chains and double crochet stitches forming open squares and blocks to form a picture or pattern. My first project, a lighthouse bookmark was stitched a bit too tight.

image.jpeg

My next project was a curtain for the kitchen window. It is 3 separate panels that I stitched together and made a border around. A bit better, but the stitches were inconsistant..some tighter, some looser, depending on my mood I guess.

image.jpeg

Presently I am working on one long panel that I will use as a curtain to cover an odd closet type opening in my kitchen that I use as a pantry. I don't know why, but it never had a door on it and I don't like having it opened...looks messy!

image.jpeg

This is the filet pattern I am using. You can see the series of spaces (chains) and blocks (dc's) that make up the flower pattern. I use a magnetic board and ruler to keep my place.

image.jpeg

And finally, here is my progress. It will take awhile to finish but I try to do at least 2 rows each day. I am trying to keep my stitches constitent!

image.jpeg

Thank yoy for looking and thanks to @crosheille for starting #needleworkmonday

Sort:  

OMG, I love Filet Crochet! You have a lot of patience working a whole curtain.

Two rows a day is my goal! Any more and I would get bored I think.

So very delicate! I love, love the butterflies in the curtain. You're very talented! Thanks for sharing.

Thanks! You can't ell from the pic, but there's chickens in there too.

This is the first I’ve heard of filet crochet! You are so great with those threads. I like the butterfly pattern in your kitchen curtains. I can see the lighthouse in the first one too!

How long do you think this one will take? This is definitely a project that will keep you busy! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks! Filet is easy..just chains and dc. If I do 2 rows a day, I think I will be done in a few months. We will see! I was thinking of posting progress pics on #needleworkmonday s.

It sure looks like a lot more than just dc and chains!!! Yes please do that! Keep us posted with updates on your progress!

I'm glad to find people here who are interested in the needle work . My hobby is working with a needle or needlepointing. But I use mostly already made schemes ( charts) of famous companies such as Viehler gobelins, L & L Mirabilia, Passione Ricamo, Lanarte ... But my mother liked crocheting and my aunt loves kniting, and watching they works I learned the basics of crocheting and kniting.

Looking forward to seeing some pictures of your projects!

wow! amazingly !!!!! I never had the courage to knit such things. the curtain in the kitchen is very delicate. I love!!!! you're right: you need a curtain on your closet. he will look more neat and cozy with her. I already really like your beginning !!!!! wow !!!!!! I'm looking forward to the final result !!!! Oooooh! I see the dog !!!!! What's his name? :)

Thank you! That is Candy! That big orange pail in the pantry contains her kibble....something my new curtain should hide!

Candy will not hurt the curtain. he will find his bucket by smell :)))) he handsome!

Hi @anise. My goodness you have done some lovely crochet work. The pattern you selected is darling and your closet curtain is going to be fantastic! Happy #NeedleworkMonday, my dear!

Thank you! I have been looking for the right pettern for awhile. I'm happy I found this one and can finally get started on it!

Woo hoo! Can't wait to see how it come along next Monday!

Your second project was a curtain??!!!! You shame me :-D No really, this is so great. I always admire your delicate work. I would probably kill someone during the stitching. (But there are so many beautiful patterns for fitel crochet - sigh)

It's quite easy to do filet if you already know how to crochet. I am always making useless doilies and this time I wanted to make something that I actually need! Ha..I would more likely kill someone if they took my hooks and thread away!

As you perhaps noticed, I like my craft mostly simple, because I always do different things simultaneously, like stretching or listening to something etc... But because I really like the appearance of more elaborated stitch patterns, I try them from time to time, but seldom finish them. Right now, I can't crochet, because my middle finger hurts... I try knitting, it's a little bit better, but maybe i need to stop completely for some days (noooooo, please, nooooo)
But I am always happy to see your inspiring crochet projects <3

That's a big jump from a bookmark to a curtain! Beautiful work. I love filet crochet and you've done an excellent job!

Ha..yes it is a big challenge but not really any more difficult than the bookmark...just takes more time. Thank you!

I wish I can knit, I was trying to get a hang on it but whatever I knit ain't always strong. This is lovely, I like it. Thanks for sharing

This is actually crochet. If you want to learn, just keep trying. It will get easier and your projects will get better the more you practice! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55