Whew!

in #needlework6 years ago

With all the bumps and snags of the past couple of weeks, I really had to scramble to get things ready for the studio tour. I thought I was taking the easy way out by concentrating on dyeing yarn, but all that skein winding on my niddy noddy kept me busier than I expected. Still, I got a fair amount done.

IMG_2417.JPG

I also dyed some spinning fiber, a blend of Polwarth, mohair and silk.

IMG_2421.JPG

I wanted to get so much more done, but luckily I had about eight pairs of knitted elf slippers that I made in the early autumn. A few pairs of mitt too.

I did dye some silk , but only half of it made it to the studio. I'm now untangling 800 yards of the rest of it. I'm not sure it will be ready even for the second weekend of the studio tour.

I snapped a photo of the yarn display before I left.

IMG_2420.JPG

Sort:  

Just beautiful colors!

Thanks @fiberfrau! At first, I dyed randomly and had only light colors. I could hear Easter egg comments in my head, so I brought in some deeper colors to balance.

I really like earthy / green colours and purple, @kimmac. I wonder how you got on selling some of your work recently...

This weekend and the next are my chance to sell the stuff I’ve been making. I’ll get a sales report each day of the tour. I try not to have expectation though every year has been pretty good so far. Still, I never count on doing well. Those miniature sock ornaments I made are at a local shop, but last time I went in, they hadn’t put them out yet. I think I jogged their memory. 🙂 I still have other items in that store, and I sell things from time to time, but I’m being more strategic about what pays better to make now. Hard lessons learned!

Congratulations @kimmac! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I looove your colours, all are so soft (ok.. besides the pop of yellow, which I also love) and have this small variation in hues. I would so love to knit something with this. I hope your customers will buy themselves stupid :-DDDD
Untagling yarn on the other side does not sound of too much fun... If you need some (virtual) burning assistance, let me know :-D

Thanks @neumannsalva! Yes, the yellow came out a little brighter than I wanted. 🙂 I was going for something like wheat. There is always the option of overdyeing. I dyed the green yarn three times until I got the right color.
I worked on the silk untangling last night, and it may take me months. That’ okay. Just a little at a time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81