Zero Waste Knitting

in #needlework6 years ago

etsyscarf.jpg

I don't claim to achieve zero waste in my knitting, but I do believe it is one of the least wasteful crafts. Even small remnants can go into stripes or embroidery or fringe. My go-to project is striped scarves like the one pictured. Whenever I have a collection of scraps that are compatible, I cast on a striped scarf. Sometimes I use just warm colors, saving the cool colors for another scarf. Other times I just mix everything up.

These are great charity projects or extras to have on hand for an unexpected cold snap.

Sort:  

The scarf is so beautiful. I like the color combos. I wish i could knit. I only know crochet a little and cross stitch. Thanks for sharing @fiberfrau.

#up-gage

Posted using Partiko Android

Crochet is also great for using up scraps. I like to make granny squares for blankets.

Posted using Partiko Android

This scarf is beautifully done dear , i admire those who are really good on handcrafts 😍👏

Your post has been recommended by @dizzyapple for my up-gage challenge

You are welcome to join as well , engage and get rewarded with upvote+steem

I enjoy scrapping projects together too.

This scarf looks lovely.

I love stripes and your scarf is lovely. But I often shy away to use very small amounts of yarn because I don’t like sewing in so many yarn ends. Do you have a special technique to link the yarn? Especially in a scarf I find it tough to sew the ends in without them being visible 🤔

This scarf is tubular, so I just knot the yarn ends together and leave them dangling inside. No ends to hide.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @fiberfrau! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57257.58
ETH 2345.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40