#Needlework : Struggling with double pointed needles - 121218

in #needlework6 years ago (edited)

As one of my daughters would say, that’s real footage of my face yesterday.

I tried to avoid sewing the side of the mini hats I’m making by knitting one in the round with double pointed needles.

It was a ‘fiddly’ process particularly after I discovered that by accident (!) I ended up knitting on the wrong side. Somehow I should have used reverse stocking stitch for the first row with the white edge.

The problem with purling all the way is that it’s slower and I couldn't really try any fancy stitching. I persevered with the little project and completed it. I didn't have to sew the side but need extra practice on joining for the first row in the round so it looks neater.


Anyhow I had plenty of distraction too.

We visited @tinygalaxy in Swansea as she's already choosing accommodation options for the next academic year. We
had some really nice paninis and salad at the Tapestri Cafe. It’s such a lovely place !

It looks as if I got much more salad than @tinygalaxy. For the record I only left the raw red onion :D



photos by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

Everyone has their preferred methods for knitting in the round. DPNs definitely aren't mine - far from it! For a single item like your hats I'd try magic loop. The joining in the round is more simple there and you don't have these @&%@ first rounds where the DPNs do everything to sabotage your work.

Magic loop is really not difficult once you understand how the 'magic' works :) Here's a link to a short video tutorial:
https://youtu.be/IdSpc0EZpnk

BTW: The food looks great, the panini makes me want to go out and have some :)

Thank you for the tip. I've tried the magic loop in the past and 'got in a right pickle', so I will watch the video, @muscara.
The food tasted really nice too :D

Double-pointed needles have a learning curve, for sure. After many pairs of socks, I am quite comfortable with them, though I sometimes still do the first few rows on straight needles, then join in the round just to avoid that awkward first row on dpns. The tiny seam I make at the top is hardly more than darning in the ends.

Thank you for the tip, @fiberfrau. I will try it next time. I've made six little hats so far and would really like to contribute 10 :D

I would eat the onions and skip the cucumbers :) Nice you got to visit @tinygalaxy

:D Actually having looking at the number of cucumber pieces I got it makes think that perhaps @tinygalaxy 'shared' some of hers with me, @steven-patrick :D

krkrkr... you look a little bit stressed up there :P

a nice and bloggish post :D I feel like I'm actually getting to know you a little.

And I want a burger for breakfast now :)

:D I'm actually very predictable, @googlyeyes and enjoy adding googly eyes too.

Oh no, I crave for a panini now. Excellent idea for googlyeyes! :)

Sorry about that, @insaneworks... I hope you got some panini relief today :D

Struggling with double whaaaat?! Even with the distraction I am impressed @cryptocariad. I tried to teach myself crochet (gave up on knitting years ago) but I need a good teacher. This is impressive

Hello, @buckaroo and welcome to my humble blog :D
My main objective is to inspire people like me to just have a go. What I make is not always successful or looks that neat; I like learning new skills and I'm always ready to try and try again. I like experimenting and sharing what I (try to) make :D

Incidentally, double pointed needles, dpns for short, are just knitting needles that you use to knit in the round ... I'm learning how to use them :D If I could I'd make a video and it would be really 'entertaining' :D

There are many talented people that share their work every Monday with the #needleworkmonday tag and everyday some of us use the #needlework tag.

Do you sew ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48