#Needlework : Making a pennant to display pins and badges - 231218

in #needlework6 years ago

Although it may look as an apron or a pocket, it's a pennant to display pins and badges. @mivstar asked me to make one for her ages ago. She wanted it this shape, but if you're planning to make one for yourself, you can choose other shapes.

I shall show you the process I followed to create it :

1 - I ‘upcycled’ an old white shirt - the collar didn’t look nice any more.
2 - I cut the back of the shirt and laid it flat on the table. I can use the buttons, sleeves and so on other projects.

3 - I drew the design on a piece of paper. In order to make it symmetrical I just folded the paper. As explained above this is the actual shape that @mivstar requested. I’m aware that pennants are normally a different shape.
4 - I then folded the back of the upcycled shirt in half and pinned the ‘pattern’.

5 - I drew around in pencil a broken line following the paper shape. I needed to have the correct shape because I did all the sewing by hand so I had to have a clear guide so my stitching was straight. A sewing machine would have been easier :D

6 - I used back stitch to mimic the sewing machine stitching so it was secure. It was hard to see what I was doing because I used white thread.

7 - I marked a slit where I stopped sewing so I could then turn the work to the right side.

8 - The photo above shows you the shape of the work once finished and trimmed. The other photo shows you the project being turned inside out… It was a bit difficult to turn.

9 - After ironing the work carefully to make sure it kept the shape, I put a knitting needle where the stick to hang the pennant is going to go - @mivstar needs to find and cut one :D. I reckon that rolled paper would be just fine though.

I found some ‘vintage’ badges for the photo and while I was positioning them, @jen0revision exclaimed ‘put googly eyes on!’



By coincidence this month’s ‘free gift’ in the magazine Mollie Makes (which I love) is a kit to make and embroider a mini pennant… I wonder whether @mivstar will want a pom-pom to go with hers.



all work by @cryptocariad



Sort:  

Love it, I'm totally a pin/button collector! :)

I'm not sure where you're based, @phonexiwren, but here a lot of the charities sell them as way of raising money. The girls also buy 'meme' type pins now :D

Googlyeyes forever! My boys collected hockey pins. Youth teams often exchange pins after matches.

:D Did they have a place to display the buttons, @steven-patrick?
I'm not really sporty but I think it's a great idea to exchange pins at the end of a match !

‘put googly eyes on!’

hahaha... YES!

Yes, haha, but now I need to adjust the shape of the pennant as it needs to be more pointy, @googlyeyes... I sort of knew it ...

Just lovely .... nothing more to comment 😉

Hope you're feeling better, @brittandjosie ! These festivities are loaded with work of all sorts for us to make a special memory for everyone ...

I do feel better with alot of medication only christmas once a year so I am in 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75