A Town Dear To Me

in #nederland6 years ago

20141229_135820.jpg

Last January my husband and I visited family in The Netherlands. My husband is Dutch and we fly there pretty often. Being away from family makes us miss them even more, but by plane, we are there in 2 hours. When we have a longer holiday we like to travel by car, because we like to visit different cities and countries along the way. This time we went by plane because we only stayed one week and we didn't want to lose 4 days( 2 days to go there and 2 days back, it is 20h driving, but we always stop for the night to rest) on the road. We had a great time there and every time that we go, we take our bicycles and go for a ride in the city.

These pictures are taking from my husband's hometown and every time I see the scenery impresses me even more. I like their architecture style, the water channels with their beautiful boats and their effort in preserving the nature.

Many travels by their bicycle no matter of the weather: sunny, rain, snow, windy or warm. I experienced this too. I went biking to the supermarket and when I returned I got caught in a heavy rain. Of course, I didn't take an umbrella because was difficult to bike and carry the shopping bags too. It was an unforgettable experience and I hope to not repeat it. The town doesn't look so green now, but in few weeks when everything start to bloom it will look breathtaking.

20141227_133632.jpg

20141224_125424.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! Beautiful place. Taking a bike ride is the best way to get to know the city, in my opinion. I liked the photos and your narration.

Interesting. Seems so ready for spring even in January, or they just don't get much snow there?

It is a sea climate, with soft winters and cold summers, that's why the grass is always green, even in winter.

beautiful town. biking around town is the best way. thats how I had enjoyed my stay in Paris. world over this trend of biking and walking around for small close by errands should come back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51