who am i ?

in #ned7 years ago

Hello friends the person I mentioned in my last post was Steve jobs. Guess the name of person whose story is written below .Right the name in comments.

I was Born on a farm in 1890.I was the oldest of 3 children. My father died when I was 5 years . My younger brother was 3 and my mom was 7 months pregnant.

After my father’s death, I (age 5!) was in charge of the household while my mom worked full-time in a factory. My mother remarried when I was 12 to an abusive man. To avoid the beatings I dropped out of school and went to live with my Uncle. At the age of 15 i lied about my age to enter the Army where i was a Mule handler in Cuba. I was honorably discharged after just 4 months.

After returning from Cuba i bounced around from job to job. Finally at the age of 28i married my first wife, Josephine, and had 3 children, my only son died at an early age, leaving two daughters. While I was on a business trip Josephine sold all our belongings and took the children to live with her mother. Josephine’s brother sent me a letter saying “She had no business marrying a no-good fellow like you who can’t hold a job.”
My eldest daughter, Margaret, later published a book about me. In it she states that I had a mistress and even hired this woman in his home to “help with the housework”. It’s hard to imagine that this indiscretion didn’t contribute significantly to the eventual divorce. After the divorce from Josephine I married the mistress.

Finally in 1930, at the age of 40, I opened a service station in Corbin, KY where i cooked chicken and other southern dishes. I didn’t have any seating in the service station so people would eat in his adjacent living quarters. My cooking became so popular that i eventually moved into a nearby motel and opened a 142 seat restaurant.

I spent the next 9 years perfecting the use of a pressure fryer to cook his chicken and finally released the new version, with a new blend of spices, in 1939. I had been pan frying it but that method took 30 minutes which was not ideal for serving hungry customers. I found that the pressure cooker not only cooked the chicken faster but also left it with a flakier crust and juicier meat. My new blend of spices is what we know today as “original recipe”.

In 1949, the Governor of Kentucky Lawrence Wetherby dubbed me as “Colonel Sanders”. I also started developing my distinctive look as i grew goatee and began wearing a white suit. I even bleached his mustache and goatee white to match.

In 1955, at the age of 65, my booming restaurant took a massive hit. Interstate 75 was built which took traffic off of route 25 which is where my restaurant was situated. Harland knew this was a death blow to his business. I sold the restaurant at auction and received just enough to cover my debts.

At age 65, after 25 years in the restaurant business, I was effectively broke.

Shortly after I received his first social security check for $105. With nothing but my social security check and a killer chicken recipe I hit the road looking for restaurants to buy the rights to my recipe.
I lived in his car for 2 years and was rejected 1,009 times before finally finding a restaurant owner who agreed to use my recipe.

(Hold on… let’s think about this. Here’s a guy, aged 65, living in his car driving around the country looking for someone to buy his chicken recipe. He took over a thousand “No’s” before getting even on “Yes”. That’s 1.4 ‘No’s” per day every day for 2 years. I can’t even imagine…)

My offer was to license the recipe and receive 5 cents per chicken in return. 5 cents per chicken. From this i grew my empire! By 1964, 9 years i hit the road, my chicken was being sold in 600 restaurants in the US and Canada and I sold Kentucky Fried Chicken for $2 million.
Then i regretted my decision and didn’t like the changes the new owners made the franchise. When they moved the company headquarters to Nashville Sanders said “This ain’t no goddam Tennessee Fried Chicken, no matter what some slick, silk-suited sonofabitch says.” I eventually bought back the Canadian portion of the company and later gave it to a charity.

I left the company for good in 1970 saying “[I] realized that I was someplace I had no place being. … Everything that a board of a big corporation does is over my head and I’m confused by the talk and high finance discussed at these meetings.”

I died on December 16th, 1980 of pneumonia after being diagnosed with leukemia 6 months previous. Friends guess the name of person in comment I will write the name of person in my next post .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59947.96
ETH 2426.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49