You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ned Scott and @theoretical of Steemit Explore Oracles on Steem

in #ned6 years ago

Wouldn't these oracles become a tool for tribalism? You already mention age and gender as if they're innocent criteria. For example, an SMT could restrict rewards to white Americans who are NRA members and registered as Republicans.

Sort:  

Or the opposite: black Americans who are not NRA members and registered as Democrats.

But I guess that that is part of tribalism as well. And i agree with you: age and gender aren't innocent criteria.

Yes. Most groups are exclusive and no one can belong to them all. Amex points. The high school you graduated from. Any and every action and demographic.

Great theory @ned. Under one condition.
There must be "meaningful" SMT creators, each utilizing a different combination of oracles.

A minnow like me could create an SMT, but it would have zero value. You need someone who can create a token that people are willing to trade. Only an individual or company that has massive active followers can do that. It has to be an outside force that matches your influence.

You've made clear that you're going to create Good Person Tokens but that's not what I'm concerned about. We are in the dark as to who else. In order for your concept to work you need multiple SMT creators each with a sizeable rewards pool completely independent from you.

Here's my question: what guarantees that you will not be the dominant SMT creator? (that the 2 oracles you mentioned will not be the only source of verification?)

(again, I like you. I'm just curious)

I leave you a private message on steemit.chat ... if you can read me and answer me I would appreciate it very much

Aprecio todos y cada uno de los esfuerzos que uds realizan diariamente...

Es asombroso ver la pasión con la que explican cada fase o cada paso que han dado y cada actualización de su proyecto que a la vez ahora también

ES NUESTRO PROYECTO

MIL GRACIAS

I find it troublesome that you say this as if its not a joke

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95