A fun statistic about the North Carolina coast

in #nc2 months ago

I was forwarded this by a friend so I don't have a source for it but it is likely a meme anyway so do we really need to source those?

If you live in North Carolina or especially if you live near the coast like I do you are already aware that the erosion of the sand on the beach is something that can be counted on. The fact that people continue to build houses there is quite amazing to me and the battle that they continually pursue against mother nature is a very expensive and an exercise in Sisyphean futility. The hurricane season and general erosion by the tides is so powerful here that if we were to simply stop fighting the battle for a few years, the ocean would reclaim what is rightfully it's own.


src

As crazy as it seems this is a regular sight in NC. The houses on the Outer Banks, which is very near where I live, are regularly reclaimed by the sea yet people continue to build them there.

The government always claims that they are there for our protection and one would think that because this happens every damn year despite massive amount of money both public and private being pumped into preventing it, that they would declare this unsafe and walk away... but they don't! I think, if the meme coming next is true, is part of the reason why this insanity continues.


image.png
src
I actually WAS able to find a source

Now perhaps I will later look up to see if this is actually true to find out if the NC lawmakers actually did this but honestly, I don't really need to because I have a deep distrust of government on all levels, even in North Carolina. At the end of the day, government is almost always protecting the people that already have tons of money and there is a HUGE amount of money involved in the development of these houses. There is also the fact that these houses generate massive amounts of money for tourism and the individual owners. It also likely generates a massive amount of money for the insurance companies that insure the houses even though the insurance companies as well as the people who insure them, are very aware of the fact that the destruction of said house is an eventuality.

In the meantime huge amounts of tax money is diverted into attempting to combat mother nature so that they can delay the eventual destruction of the houses by the sea. Environmental damage is likely cleaned up by using the same tax money. Therefore the circle goes like this: Rich people pay off the government to ignore science, they invest in something that is going to make them a ton of money, and millions of regular Joe folks like yours truly end up footing the bill when this happens. Then the media spins it so it looks like an unseen catastrophe even though it happens nearly every year.

I love the Outer Banks and spend as much time there as possible. However, I know a bad deal when I see one and this is a bad deal for the people of North Carolina. This is something I will be paying much greater attention to in the future so thank you random friend of mine who sent me this in a message! You opened my mind to yet another aspect of government corruption that I was unaware existed before now.

Despite all this I still encourage people to visit the Outer Banks while you still can. Eventually the ocean is going to win and there won't be enough money to fight it anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42