You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NBA Rookie of the Year 2017 - Predictions

in #nba7 years ago

Damn dude, you picked my top three in the exact order I would have put them, and basically gave my exact rationale as well. That's nuts! At #4...because of the Sixers logjam, I think it's possible that De'Aaron in SAC could have better stats than Fultz, and thus look better on paper.

After his horrendous first summer league game, I was ready to laugh at the Lakers. And mostly because of his loudmouth dad and gross-looking jumper, I didn't really want to root for Lonzo. But goodness, the guy knows how to pass a basketball. You can always tell good from great by looking at the placement and timing of the pass. Simply connecting on a pass vs hitting someone perfectly in stride, delivering it to the shooting pocket when teammates are spotted up so they don't have to reach for it...he does those, and makes his teammates want to pass more because of it. Sharing is contagious. Totally agree about it being a small sample size, worse competition, etc -- but it looks promising. And if it looks promising for a full season, hello next summer's free agents (read: Paul George - I'm not buying the Lebron stuff).

Simmons could be great. Or he could be average. Or he could have chronic Sixeritis and only make it half the season before another injury. But I love that I don't have a clue what to expect out of Philly this year, that's half the fun.

I think Dennis Smith Jr. has a ceiling of Damian Lillard (another chip-on-shoulder fella), and a floor of Austin Rivers (who I begrudgingly accept as a vastly improved player from when he came into the league). In either case, I'm happy for the Mavs to have grabbed a legit player to offset the soon departure of Dirk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45