You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nature Photo Contest Week #6 - MOUNTAINS MONDAY IS OPEN!

I was going to post this last week but was a little late. I've already created a page for it so to avoid duplicating, I'll post the picture in the comments section-
DSC03980.jpg
Approaching the summit of Acotango (6052 m) on the Bolivia/Chile border, Bolivia. The formations to the right are called Penitentes, thin blades of hardened snow.
Original page- https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@steve-d/acotango-summit-bolivia

Sort:  

That's really wild looking. I live in a snow zone but I don't think we get anything like those Penitentes. Incredible photo!

Amazing, at such height did you feel the lack of oxigen?

Thanks for the comment. Yes, at about 5750 metres, your oxygen intake is half what it is at sea level (imagine climbing the stairs at sea level with just one lung of air), fortunately I had climbed Chacaltaya (5421 m) and Huayna Potosi (6088 m) beforehand so was fairly acclimatised. You also have high UV to contend with, twice as much at this altitude compared to sea level. Great views and worth the trek.

That's impressive. I've dreamed about going up the Aconcagua, but I've heard it's expensive in terms of equipment needed =s

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67