Nature Photo Contest Week #9 – FLORA AND FAUNA FRIDAY IS OPEN!

IMG_2128 ACA.JPG©2017 ACA Photography/@shadalene. All rights reserved.

PARTICIPATION RULES

1. Upvote this post.
2. Share an original photograph of flora or fauna and a short description in a comment on this post, OR in a new post on your page with the first tags #naturephotocontest and #floraandfaunafriday.

The contest ends at 9:00 AM EST tomorrow, April 28.

PRIZES AND PAYMENTS

The SBD on this post will be divided equally between the judge and the hostess.
The SBD on the winners announcement at payout will be divided between the winners as follows: First place: 40%, Second place: 25%, Third place: 15%, Two Honorable Mentions: 10% each.

DAILY THEMES
Mountains Monday - #mountainsmonday
Trees Tuesday - #treestuesday
Water Wednesday - #waterwednesday
Textures Thursday - #texturesthursday
Flora and Fauna Friday - #floraandfaunafriday
Simple Sunday - #simplesunday

Sort:  

The apple blossoms are here! Where I live there are many apple orchards. And at this time of the year they all bloom and there is a sweet scent in the air and it's just magical to look at it.
IMG_5756 (2).JPG
©@akinome
https://steemit.com/naturephotocontest/@akinome/nature-photo-contest-week-9-flora-and-fauna

It was a warm, sunny day. The snail was sitting on a branch. She hid behind a dry sheet. It's amazing how the sheet complements her image.

https://steemit.com/naturephotocontest/@mariya-lorenz/nature-photo-contest-week-9-flora-and-fauna-friday-snail

This gorgeous Tulip tree caught my attention as I was walking by it in DC on the national mall recently. The afternoon light was hitting it just right and I was captivated. It is so fun to be surprised by the beauty around me. I didn't even know there was such thing as Tulip Trees.

Is that like a Magnolia?

Here is a close up

Oh yes beautiful... that looks very much like what I know to be a Magnolia... there's a few different varieties and they come in a range of colours - white, yellow and various pinks and purples. There's an evergreen variety too : )

I just recently bought what I know to be a Tulip Tree (here in Australia), it is a huge growing green tree with a really strange shaped leaf with a yellow and orange flower. : ) It's funny how in different places they're called different things.

I LOVE magnolias, I almost bought one once... they are quite expensive and I was worried it wasn't going to be cold enough where I live for me to keep it alive/or flower so I didn't : ( They're so beautiful though!!

I looked a little more online and it says that the tuplip tree is native to North America and is a member of the magnolia family.

Ah okay... well there you go! I have never heard it being called a tulip tree, we learn something new everyday! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60