My lovely seed bed to welcome spring!

in #nature6 years ago

Gimme some sun!

It's been hell to find some time to write. I'm a proud busy teacher but that would leave some time to read and write on steemit... But finally my new electric vehicle arrived so my free time diminished a lot because of all bureaucracy needed!

Spring is a bit shy here in Portugal and it's been raining like hell since the beginning of March. It's good for renewable energy production, but not so good for our typical mediterranean mood... Sun is half of our mental energy! So I was very happy to finally get some direct sun in my face. The air also feels like spring, a fresh sea breeze mixed with polen and an acceptable temperature at night.

I had to find some time to make my lovely seed bed. I don't have much space to help my plants grow more, but I just like to welcome spring like this, and I usually donate my saplings to friends and family. For the container, I used a dedicated plastic one because I had no time to make my 100% reused materials sowing bed (I steal some plastic cups from my school's garbage can). It's fun to make your own containers!


Sementeira1.JPG

I also had some spare coconut pellets which are great when you don't have much time, which was the case. You just add some water and they grow like hell and BAM, there you have a nice earth-like compost made of coconut fibers. Seeds love that stuff.


Sementeira2.JPG

I had 4 different seeds I wanted to sow this year. Having 5 columns and 3 lines of empty spaces, I had a problem to solve since I don't want to lose track of which species is growing in a specific space. Nothing a permanent marker wouldn't solve.


Sementeira4.jpg

This means I'll soon have saplings for Cayenne Pepper, Dill, Chives and Basilic. It's funny because plant's and ingredient's names are never similar in Portuguese and English, something that happens sometimes with many other words (which is understandable because of culture proximity).

Now I'll just wait for them to grow! I love this process of checking every day on the progress they've been making, before springing a bit of water to keep them moisturized and warm.

I hope you enjoyed this small post! Now I have to read some stuff, and hopefully get in touch with you on Thursday as usual :)


DQmS1SF61LjKWUuHRToDmXTHysQHtjsBLomDLTnuw58UsPJ_1680x8400.png

Do you want to earn SBD forever? I'm giving away 1 Steem Basic Income share :) Just drop an original comment in this post!


If you enjoyed this post please consider:

upvote follow resteem


Sort:  

I have some loofah sprouting, and my moringa is coming back to life. I'm very excited.

It's just great to watch them grow!

It really is really thrilling, like watching magic.

We could have a bright future ahead if we invested in that kind of magic!

If we could only pay attention to the magic and miracles all around.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zpedro from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97