Do you recognize this flower?

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

I always try to find time to stop and appreciate my surroundings. Quite often I'm so caught up with my objectives and plans, that I forget to look around.
DSC05303.JPG
These grow wild in my yard, more of a pest than a plant but they're still quite lovely.
I've realized that it can be quite rewarding to just stop for five minutes and simply observe what's around me for what it is, without forming any serious thoughts, or planning, or analyzing my current situation in life, regardless of what it is. In the end, I feel refreshed and renewed, ready to tackle my problems head on again with feeling that sense of monotony that comes with routine.
DSC05304.JPG
Sometimes it's easy to miss the beauty of our surroundings because we are so focused ahead.

Have a nice day Steemit crew!!

Sort:  

it looks nice what kind of flower is it?

It reminds me a great deal of bird of paradise.

ha, interesting, it is quite pretty I guess :)

Did you look it up? You know how the look better than I do. It's a little hard to tell by your photos, but it looks like bird of paradise to me.

Just remember, any plant can be a 'weed'. A weed is just something growing where someone doesn't want it to/not where they planted it. A rogue tulip growing in a rose garden would be a weed, too. :)

Well, when I search google I see many breeds of heliconia and I'm confident this is one, but I never see any exactly like the ones I have here. I'm just getting into this stuff too. thanks to steemit :)

Since it seems to be growing wild, it may be a naturally occurring hybrid.

When I was growing up, we'd grow several colors and sizes if morning glories, and they would often hybrid together to make very unique and stunning flowers.

Interesting, ill look into that, I have a fascination with flowers that contain green. For example DSC04737.JPG

I know what that is but just can't remember what they're called. There were some growing in the back yard when I was a kid. They're lovely plants.

Awesome! you must come from a similar environment as i do:)

Very interesting flower! I've never seen it before

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69