You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The greater noctule bats (Nyctalus lasiopterus) in Spain are being killed by the invasive rose-ringed parakeets (Psittacula krameri) who want their nests

in #nature6 years ago

I used to have a pet a parakeet as a child...And he was so beautiful and I remember his bite was so powerful...Easily capable of injuring human skin...
I Never thought of the harms they could have done as an invasive specie...
And I remember that my parakeet loved eating Guava:)

Sort:  

What type of a parakeet did you have? A rose-ringed parakeet, or another type? :)

My family had a few parrots when I grew up, and you are definitely correct about them being able to injure human skin. The biggest they had was a Ara ararauna, which could probably snap off a finger if he wanted to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58968.99
ETH 2825.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24