CAUTION: Frog Crossing

in #nature6 years ago

This is my first post after submitting my "INTRODUCE MYSELF." It's difficult to know where I start as there is so much I want to share and learn from all of you.

BlogAboutPic.jpg

So....I'll start with my PASSION which is building an OUTDOOR SANCTUARY where I can reflect on life and simply just BE and enjoy nature. My outdoor space has evolved over a decade and been ever changing.

My garden is a living breathing expression of the passion I have for working with the plants, the water and the soil or simply as a place for contemplation, relaxation and appreciation and gratitude for the phenomena of nature herself.

My happiest moments are working in my garden and being with the natural surroundings. I find the environment healing and educational. Everything about my garden teaches me more about life, spirit and myself.

                 Everything that slows us down
                 and forces patience, everything 
                 that sets us back into the slow
                   cycles of nature, is a help.
                        Gardening is an
                      Instrument of grace.
                                                    May Sarton

My serious GARDENING began when we finished building our log home in zone 7 of the beautiful northwest, USA. We moved here December of 1998.

DSC00125.JPG

The creation and construction of my backyard sanctuary has been a reflection of my own evolution. NOTHING IS EVER PLANNED in advance. I trust my inner guidance to instruct what to plant and where. I create, plant, build as spirit moves me.

Most of it was built on a budget. Much of the furniture was constructed from material found on our 8 acres of land such as stick arbors and cedar limb benches.

Bench.jpg

The rocks helped pave my PONDS AND STREAMS. I will share the construction projects in future posts which will include instructions.

The large pile of boulders that were left in the back became inaccessible due to a wrap-around deck so I chose to build a waterfall over them.

My mother passed away that year and I became obsessed with hand-digging a pond as a way of working through the grief; thus a passion was ignited. I carved a gorgeous sanctuary out of 8 acres of treed hilly land.

Copy of P10101841.JPG

This PATIO was made with a form purchased at a local home improvement store. They are stimple to do and this one cost me about $100. It made for a comfortable sitting area beside the pond. I will post instructions for these pavers in future posts.

Copy of DSC03028.JPG

These CALLA LILIES offer a bright spot that lasts for several weeks. They spend their winters in the greenhouse and multiply for additional blooms next spring.

The evolving nature of this outdoor space commands new forms of plant life. Each year new ones are introduced, a few exchange places and others can't adapt to the location or environment.

MY OWN LIFE REFLECTS THESE CHANGES AS WELL; old friends move away, children are born or jobs change. One automobile is replaced by a newer model or older ones pass away. Life certainly does seem to reflect nature in all ways.

Copy of Star Lily.jpg
These are STAR LILIES which do well here. Their fragrance is simply heavenly and floats across the entire area.

Copy of Laika.jpg
Of course, no space is complete without some friendly critters to keep me company. Here is one of many. We call her Laika.

Future posts will contain many more photos of the other areas of this wonderful space in nature.

Copy of Earth Laughs In Flowers.jpg

To provide some interest there are many forms of garden art, signs and sculptures tucked away in various places along the pathways. Some I have made and others were gifts from friends.

Copy of Wine Bottle Wall.jpg

Old wine bottles proved to make a colorful addition to a cement wall. I will provide instructions in later posts.

I look forward to sharing many photos of my garden in hopes you can enjoy it with me. One of the most enjoyable activities of my summer is to sit outside in one of the many sitting areas with a glass of wine and good company.

Sort:  

That is my DREAM GARDEN, @witchhazel! Simply gorgeous, flowing, colorful, calming... obviously organically created, going with what feels right.

I'm following you to see what other awesome things you'll be posting, like that wine bottle-cement wall. Welcome to Steemit!

I'm so happy that my garden can uplift you; that is my true intention. Wish you could enjoy it with me in person. Many future posts will show the evolution of the garden and stages I am presently working on. Thank you so much for the kind reply.

The colors in your photos are amazing and just pop right off my screen. So vibrant and soothing. I found this via OCD and just wanted to drop a note of encouragement and let you know that I appreciate the effort. Really cool. #moreplease

I really appreciate your feedback. It is difficult for me to decide which photos to post as I have so many. Thanks for the encouragement. Hopefully we can share information and inspiration.

Focus on one at a time. Maybe a 1-2 paragraph description of what you are going for with it? Location, etc. Helps me put the image into context. It's a luxury to have too many ideas on what to post, isn't it? It beats writers block. Happy snapping!

Thanks, that's great advice.

Your garden is beautiful - well done.

Thanks so much. Starting to get the hang of Steemit. See you in future posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69046.82
ETH 3769.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68