You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Knysna Birds - The feathered kind.

in #nature7 years ago

Hi @themagus...I am a very keen birdwatcher, but unfortunately I don't have the right camera to take good bird photos like your wonderful ones here. I do have to correct you on your ID's though. What you have called a black starling is in fact a Fork Tailed Drongo (you can just see the whiskers behind the beak that help them catch insects). Similiarly your Orange Breasted Sunbird is in fact a Greater Double Collared Sunbird (beautiful photo though).

Sort:  

No WAY JOSE..... damn, I am glad you saw my post. I argued with my girl for a long time that that was NOT a Starling. I almost did not include the pic I was so uncomfortable with identifying it as a Starling. So BIG thank you for the feedback. Now I used the Roberts Birds reference book to identify the exact name of the Sunbird... so what distinguishes the Greater Double Collared Sunbird from the Orange Breasted Sunbird...( although I suspect you are correct...{sulk} ) as the Double Collared is more common ..... 100% vote for your comment... I am super impressed !!

Hi @themagus, I'm glad you don't mind the corrections...it is how we learn. I've been birding since I was 8 years old (and I won't give away my age now). The Orange Breasted sunbird has yellow orange colouring all along its belly as you can see from this pic (from Wikimedia commons) - but if you google the bird you'll find better pics. It is also VERY unmistakeably orange. The double collared sunbirds (you'll see the Lesser Double Collared often in Cape Town) have a distinct band of colour and then brown below.
Anthobaphes_violacea_2.jpg

Nice....and that is why this community can thrive...methinks. And as regards age...no comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67100.18
ETH 2610.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67