White Flatid Planthopper

in #nature5 years ago

One day last summer after it rained, I noticed a tiny white blob on the side of my trash can outside. I think that the only reason I saw it was because it was on the dark plastic trash bag that I line the trash can with.

Looking at it closer, I touched it lightly and it hopped to the top of the trash can on the lid.

It was a new insect. Yay! After doing research, I found that this is called a Planthopper which measures 1/4"-3/8" long. There are many different varieties and this one is in the family Flatidae. These planthoppers are sometimes called Flatids. They can be found in 3 different colors; lime green, purplish blue and powdery white. They feed on leaves and stems on many different plants by sucking the sap. They hardly do any damage unless you have an infestation. They can leave small white spots on top of leaves and some species can cause leaves to curl and turn brown. I check my trash can daily now, always hoping to find something new.

Thanks for stopping by!

Information Source: bygl.osu.edu

Image Source: All photos are my own.

I am a proud member of the #whalepower community.

Sort:  

I have seen these before the lime green ones and powdery white's @whatisnew but I have never seen the purplish blue version.

Lucky you @simonjay! I would love to see the lime green ones too. I do have a few more planthoppers and/or leafhoppers to post that look completely different because they are different species. I am so far behind posting things that I found last summer.

It's ok take your time getting better Steemit will still be here, haha I know what you mean I'am beyond help with the backlog of stuff I wanted to post, hopefully beginning of next year I will have more time to write again.

Awe that's a cute little guy 🐜 surprised
he is out in the colder weather. Didn't know
they came in white, seen some green brown
ones in California. Sometimes there was
tons of them in the grass 🐞

It was during the summer. I have so many photos from the summer just waiting to be posted. Maybe that will keep both of us warm during this winter? I would love to see them in different colors. This was the one and only for me. Your bugs are so cute that you put in your comments. : )

Thats to funny, you know I read summer
then said winter haha, gonna clean my
glasses and my mind lol
Tons of last summer photos and those
other seasons. Most are getting lost in
piles of files! :-)
Limited on what bugs show up everywhere,
some are only good on the phone viewing
while others work on both computers
and phones 🌻 🐝
It will be awesome to see each others
other seasons out of season!

HaHa! My mind needs cleaning too.
It will definitely be awesome "to see each others other seasons out of season." HaHa! I love that! : )

Your garbage can is a wonderland for wild looking buggies. :-)

I think so too. From what I see with your posts, we just never know what might show up in our back yards. : )

It was a lot wilder when I first got here.

Your trash seems to be the local bug pub! 😂 Hmmm... It may be just the place for a wandering squirrel to visit.

HaHa! "local bug pub." It is a perfect place for a aquirrel to vist but not just any squirrel...a purple squirrel. LOL!

New Project (16).png

Wait! You guys are going to Whatisnew's Bug Pub? Well, why didnt' you say so earlier? 😂

No way...a purple squirrel! HaHa!
Hey brisby! I have a question for you. Every time I post an insect I have to use the #nature tag and I want to narrow it down. I have been wanting to use my own tag, in hopes that it will catch on but I couldn't think of anything catchy. I love your "Bug Pub" so I was wondering if I may have your permission to use that as my new tag. #bugpub...or... #bughub. What do you think?

🤗 You're so sweet but you didn't have to ask for permission. But that you loved it and thought of me makes me smile, thank you!! 💙
Narrowing it to your own tag is a great idea! Personally, I like #bugpub better but #bughub is a really good choice as well.

Maybe a play on your name? #whatisbug 😸

Or you could go really silly and use:
#lottalegs
#cutencrawly
#whatisthisthingeatingallofmyplants 😂 (okay this just made me laugh)
#insectrespect
#bughug
#buglove
#creepysmallies

I didn't want to steal your words. : ) Oh, thanks for all of the suggestions. My favorites are:
#bugpub
#bughub
#insectrespect
#whatisbug

Thanks so much my sweet friend! I just sponsored you with one SBI. Hugs!

I really wish that I could give you a hug now! That was an unexpected surprise and a kind gift, thank you! 😻🤗

But you did because I can feel your nice, warm hug! : )

Guess what? I got so caught up with the "bug" word that I forgot something important. There are only a few real bugs; all others are called insects, including butterflies. But I wonder how many people know that. Back to the drawing board for me, not you. LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69633.73
ETH 3805.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74