Piture-Winged Fly

in #nature6 years ago

Picture-Winged Fly

What an interesting looking fly this is. The Picture-Winged Fly is a member of the fly order, Diptera. There are many different species of these flies and this one is the Delphinia picta. It is the most common picture-winged fly found in Eastern North America. Their big, black wings have white spots and stripes. They are very small flies, measuring only 1/4- 3/8 inch long. Adults can be found beginning in the middle of May, on flowers to feed on their nectar, or on decaying plant matter. Females lay their 400-500 eggs in badly decaying vegetation lying on the ground. In 4-7 days, the eggs hatch and feed on the decaying vegetation that their eggs were laid on.

I can just "picture" hundreds of these flies having their way with a dead vegetable garden, and I am very happy that I didn't have to witness that to get a photo of one.

Thanks for looking!

Information Source: britannica.com, entnemdept.ufl.edu, insectidentification.org

Image Source: 100% own work.

Sort:  

All I want to know is, do they bite!

It wasn't mentioned while doing my research, so that usually means no. If insects do bite or sting, they will write about it.



Another image of the Delphinia picta.

Suddenly, in the picture, I thought it was a wasp.
Greetings @whtaisnew

I can see the similarity to a wasp by looking at the hind end of this fly.
You will see a wasp in one of my future posts. : )

Y'know that old expression "multiplying like rabbits?" After reading this, I think it ought to be "multiplying like flies!"

HaHa! Good point! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66