Glad For Gladiolus

in #nature6 years ago

These photos are of my neighbors beautiful Gladiolus and I was glad that I could enjoy them too. Notice the top bud as it opens.

There are approximately 260 species of Gladiolus which are in the iris family. The trumpet shaped flowers are in every color except for blue and they grow on one side of a spike, which grows 2-5 feet high.

Gladiolus bloom in July and August and attract different insects that are responsible for pollination, such as bees, wasps, flies and moths.

These flowers are the official birth flower for August.

Thanks for looking!

Information Source: softschools.com

Image Source: 100% my own.

Sort:  

They are an amazing flower. Wonder if they grow in the wild like this. Probably not.

I agree with you about these flowers. No, they don't grow in the wild. You have to plant them.

I'm glad to see your gladiolus 🌹 @whatisnew! :-)
So nice and white, really beautiful photos!!

I am glad that you are glad to see the glads @shasta! LOL!
Thanks for your kind words. : )

WOW!! Your first post after long time can make me feel really happy and I have wide smile now. Many thanks, dear sis! These white flowers are very gorgeous! Great shot!

I would enjoy seeing them every day if I have them in my garden... Thanks so much for sharing. ;)

Yay! I got a big WOW! Thank you! : ) I knew you would like these. Of course I took the photos of these flowers just for you sis! : ) : ) : ) I even have 3 more different white flowers to post for you. : )

You're welcome! That's really nice of you to post photos of these beautiful white flowers for me..... And you will certainly get big WOW again from me for the 3 more different white flowers that you will post for me.... Million thanks, my dear sis! ;D

It is my pleasure sis! Looking forward to your WOW's! : )

Ah! I already gave triple WOW for you on the beautiful white flowers you posted for me!! Many many many thanks..... ;))))))

I saw those triple WOW's which made me have triple smiles. LOL! : )
Always my pleasure, dear sis. : )

Yeah! Your triple smiles made me really happy..... ;)

The funeral flower!
Beautiful, stiff, and long-lasting, it became a staple of floral bouquets at funerals. Less so as wedding bouquets - too stiff and upright. I've had a love-hate thing for "glads" because of funerals. Take away that association, and I love-hate them only because the bulbs have to be dug up, stored all winter, and replanted every spring, unlike tulips. Yeah, for all my gardening efforts. low-maintenance is my favorite. Great photos! And... they're wedding white! Good for floral arrangements at the altar.

I never did associate glads with funerals and I can see why you would have the love-hate thing going on with them. Yup, gardening can be a lot of work and it sounds like you have done your share. Low maintenance is my favorite too. Thanks again for your compliment on my photos. : )

You're most welcome, and thank you for your many insightful comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01