Bull Thistle Plant

in #nature6 years ago

I did a post a couple of weeks ago on Musk or Nodding Thistle which can be seen here: source

Today I am showing photos of Bull Thistle.

This weed was brought into the U.S. in the early 1800's when the bull thistle seeds were accidentally mixed in with crop seeds. The first year of this plant grows leaves in a rosette at the base of the plant. The second year the flowers bloom from July through September.

The plant has many branching stems, is fast growing and can easily spread along roadsides and croplands. It grows 3-7 feet tall.

I was stooping down to get this photo.

Thanks for stopping by!

Information Source: nwcb.wa.gov, gardenguides.com

Image Source: All photos are my own.

I am a proud member of the @whalepower community.

Sort:  

You take great photos even when stooped! It's a very pretty plant but I sure wouldn't want to fall into a patch of it. I read somewhere that the roots are edible but I don't think I'll be snacking on them anytime soon.

You are too kind. : ) No, Not a good one to touch or fall into. Stay away and do not touch @brisby! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83