American Beautyberry Bush

in #nature5 years ago

The American Beautyberry bush is a perfect name because of the fruit of this bush. But before the fruit can be seen you have to begin in the spring with new foliage. Then in the early summer months, very small flowers bloom on the arching branches.

The flowers grow between the leaves on the stems, in clusters.

Flowers and buds.

This photos is blurry but I just had to add it here because of the bumble bee in flight. You can also see the bee's full pollen pouch.

The farmers made good use of the leaves in the early 20th century. They crushed the leaves and used them as a mosquito and biting bug repellent. They rubbed the crushed leaves on themselves and also put them under the harnesses of horses and mules.

This fast growing shrub is native to the southern region of the U.S. and Mexico. It grows to be 5-8 feet tall.

The magic happens in the late summer or early fall as the flowers turn into clusters of gorgeous, magenta berries. Over 40 songbirds will eat these berries as well as squirrels, foxes, racoon, opossum and armadillo.

I wasn't able to get any photos of the berries this year, but I do have this one which was taken last year on 9/21/2017.

Thanks for stopping by!

Information Source: plants.usda.gov, hgic.clemson.edu

Image Source: All photos are my own.

I am a proud member of the @whalepower community.

Sort:  

These flowers are very cute and beautiful. I do really love their color, very sweet!

The berries have bright color and look yummy! I guess, they are for those animals, but not for us, right?

Thanks for providing us interesting information, as always. ;)

You are right about those beautiful berries. Only for birds and animals to eat.
Thank you for your kind words sis, as always. : )

You are much welcome, my dear sis! ;)

Well of course I'm going to eat them! Look at those deliciously delectable berries!! I don't care if I stain my vibrissae, it's worth it! Wait...what do you mean that I have to share?

I'm curious as to how effective it is as a mosquito repellent. Also, provided they will be able to survive in my zone, what kind of soil do these lovelies prefer?

HaHa! I have no idea how effective it is as a mosquito repellent.
These lovelies love a moderately acidic soil - neutral soil. Loamy, clay or sandy and has a ph of between 4.8 and 7.0. The secret is to plant in moist but well drained soil. Here is all the info you will need and more.
https://myfolia.com/plants/544-american-beautyberry-callicarpa-americana
I hope you can grow these and wish you the best of luck if you do. They are very hardy but if they get too much shade, your flowers and most importantly, the berries will be sparse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95