I saved a bird

in #nature7 years ago

Poor Little Guy!

@vonschlick

Image of bird

I found this little guy on the ground in my back yard this spring. His Sister lay dead next to him. My dogs, Gin-Gr (a Siberian husky) and Velvette (a toy poodle) had killed her, but for some reason left the other one somewhat unscathed. The one that survived was scared and shaking. He was also soaking wet like he had spent a lot of time in Gin-Gr's mouth. Their parents were creating a ruckus around me and the dogs, who were once again interested in the little guy now that I picked him up.

Image of my dogs

I picked him up, spent a few minutes checking him out and wiping the dog slobber off. I tried to give him some water and a worm I dug up, but he wasn’t interested. I set him under a bush in the front yard where the dogs couldn’t reach him and went back inside. An hour or so later I checked on him and he was hopping around. When I got too close he flew up into a tree in the clumsy way baby birds do when they first learn to fly.

My dogs are serial killers, especially in the spring when there are lots of young inexperienced baby animals around. Well mostly it’s just Gin-Gr. Velvette is too little to catch most things, but very much enjoys playing and rolling in the animals that Gin-Gr catches and Gin-Gr usually doesn’t mind sharing.

Normally they just like killing and then playing with them. When they are done they leave them for us on the back porch, but sometimes Gin-Gr doesn’t like to give them up. A while after the baby bird incident describe above Gin-Gr caught a squirrel. When my wife and son tried to remove it from the porch Gin-Gr snatched it up and actually ate the whole thing. That was the first time that I ever witnessed her actually eating something she killed.

Anyway, I hope you found this interesting.

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51