Pipevine Swallowtail and Lantana

in #nature6 years ago


It's the special time of summer where the lantana in my garden blooms again and all kinds of butterflies and bees visit it.

PipeVYard6 (2).jpg


This beautiful pipevine swallowtail was a visitor yesterday!


PipeVYard4.jpg


This is one of those unique butterflies whose wings look so different when you see them with wings that are open versus when they are closed.


PipeVYard5.jpg


PipeVYard5 (2).jpg


PipeVYard6.jpg


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


August 26, 2018
All original photos taken on my iPhone 8 Plus

Sort:  

Thank you for being a member and supporter of the creativebot.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!! <3

Thank you so much!

Very beautiful blooms. The perfect contrast for the pipevine swallowtail. Awesome that you have such good habitat at home plus the butterfly house :)

Yes, I started planting more specific plants for butterflies in my flower gardens in 2012!

Thats exceptional. I have trouble thinking that far ahead ;) Congrats it looks like your plans are successful

LOVE that blue-black color on the wings and body, complemented by the orange spots on the wings which match the color of its desired flower...

howdy again violetmed! the photos are perfection! how close to you have to get in order to get a shot like that?

With swallowtails, I can get about 6 inches away and they don't even care. Haha, they are just concentrating on the nectar in the flowers! For some of these, I was probably a 12-18 inches away from them. I can then download my photos to my computer and use my photo editor and zoom in on the part of the photo I want to feature on my posts. Other butterflies, like skippers and smaller butterflies move around fairly quickly or they get scared off by me if I get to close! I have to zoom in with my camera from farther away to they don't fly off!

howdy again violetmed! oh how interesting, I was wondering because it looked like you were right on top of them and I didn't know how skiddish they were.

Those are really pretty yellow/orange flowers!!! What a fantastic butterfly. Reminds me of a dark one I saw on my driveway...Mine was not too cooperative!

P1170854.JPG

I love lantana @violetmed but I don't think they grow here. I've only ever seen them in warmer climates.

Lovely photographs. 😊

so pretty butterfly.
Awesome photograph friend...

I think if there's a beautiful butterfly it's this one, @violetmed, with that beak on its wings, and that combination of colors between black and blue. It's really a beauty, like you, who share with us these beautiful posts. Thank you very much!

Thank you, you are so kind! Yes this is one of the most colorful that visits my yard!

beautiful imagesvlinder 4.gif

I always like to stop by your blog, @violetmed. I'm always faced with beautiful surprises, like this one. This butterfly is beautiful!! Thank you for sharing, beautiful lady.

You are so welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60883.28
ETH 2401.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63