Fantastic Foxglove - Happy Earth Day!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


Foxglove2.JPG

Foxglove3.JPG


Foxglove is gorgeous, but all parts of it are poisonous!

I photographed these flowers at the Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden in Dallas, TX.

Yes, I love this place and I am a member and go there about once a month now.


Foxglove4.JPG


Do you see the ladybug in one of these photos?


Foxglove5.JPG


Foxglove6.JPG


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


Here is some information on Foxglove.


April 22,2018
All original photos taken on my Canon PowerShot

Sort:  

Absolutely delightful post @violetmed. This is wild. I stand in awe of our Creator to make such a colorful plant to be poison as if a warning. That lady bug has no problem going right inside but for us all parts of the plant are poison. This plant should be renamed as "temptation".

Haha, maybe so!

Poisonous?? I had no clue! They are so gorgeous with the spots :) And whenever I see them I see big, fa bumblebees trying to get inside.

Yes, perfect flowers for bees!

I see ;) looking for a shade under the white flowery umbrella, probably grabbing something to bite :)

Happy Earth day @violetmed.

Bingo, you found it! Happy Earth Day to you!!

Finally I found the ladybug, but it took several views. Foxglove is so beautiful but so deadly. Is this the plant that digitalis is made from? Wish we could grow them. Just a little too warm. Great photographs. 🐓🐓

Thank you @mother2chicks and yes digitalis is made from foxglove! The botanical name for foxglove is Digitalis purpurea.


Also here is an upclose view of the ladybug.
Foxglove4 (2).JPG

Very vibrant flowers! I had some of these at the house I lived in 7 years ago and wish I had dug them up and brought them here. But we downsized and I would not have had anywhere to put them.

Really Fantastic Foxglove. It's a beauty of nature.gardenig is good thinking in earth Day. thanks a lot for sharing me.....@violetmed.

What beautiful flowers

So gorgeous flowers but poison???... 😮😮😔🤔
Thanks for sharing because this flowers is so beautiful

Hello @violetmed , I want to tell something about your pic. It's really nice it's looks like a pure nature. Thanks for share is. Please stay with us and share pic looks like. Thanks

They are so beautiful!!! Thanks so much for sharing these pretties with us. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50