Butterfly House Update -Part 1

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


Here are a few photos of some butterflies currently flying around at the butterfly house where I volunteer as a docent.

GiantSwallJuly18.jpg


Giant Swallowtail on a zinnia.


GulfFritJuly18.jpg


Gulf Fritillary(wings open) on a sunflower


GulfFritPentas1.jpg


Gulf Fritillary(wings closed) on pentas


ButterflyHouseChrys1.jpg


These 3 Queen butterflies had emerged about 30-40 minutes before I got to the butterfly house this morning!
___

ButterflyHouseChrys2.jpg


This Queen butterfly had only emerged perhaps 10 minutes before this photo - note her wrinkled wings and the empty chrysali.


I was at the butterfly house volunteering today for a couple of hours.
It was quite warm by the time I left, but it was quite enjoyable as I got to visit and talk with several groups of children and adults and share the facts I know about the butterflies and the flowers inside of the butterfly house.


My next visit to the butterfly house will be on July 28th.


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


July 18, 2018
All original photos taken on my iPhone 8 Plus

Sort:  

Those Queens can certainly resemble Monarchs. Even their pupae resemble each other's. Thank you for posting this.

Butterfly houses are so neat. What a great place to volunteer! Excellent photos. We bought the little painted lady kits when our kids were little. Basically a butterfly house with some caterpillars that you can watch turn into butterflies. Great flower photos too. Especially the pentas.

Thank you! Yes, I had 2 different groups of people in the butterfly house today tell me that they had bought the painted lady kits and watched them turn into butterflies! That is so interesting!

How wonderful, @violetmed! Not only are the images extraordinary, but also the process of the butterfly's emergence. The fact that you were able to capture that moment seems very special to me. I've never seen such a picture before. I appreciate your sharing. Greetings

Hello, and thanks for leaving a comment!

You teach butterfly lessons, @violetmed? I've always found butterflies beautiful, but I hardly know about them. I've seen some big, colorful ones come into my garden. I always wonder what kind they are? I'm gonna have to take their pictures and look. Greetings

Send me a photo of them and I will try to help you identify them! Of course, there are hundreds of butterflies in the world, but I'll give it a try!

These spaces seem to me important not only for knowledge, but also for reproduction, @violetmed. I have seen with considerable concern how butterflies have declined in some areas. For example, it was normal to see them fly all year round, now they are very rare. I don't know if it's because of the weather or because they come out in specific seasons.

Some butterflies have seen a decline. Some years there a more butterflies than others and yes there are certain times of the year that the butterflies reproduce at least in North America. I'm not an expert on other countries.

These images are beautiful and unique. I congratulate you on capturing those delicate moments. I realize it's the first part, which means there's more. Interesting. I'll keep an eye out.

Thank you!

The queen butterfly was quite a shot^^

I'm glad you get time in with kids. For me that has been the secret of not getting older. I hope those kids asked good questions and used their imaginations. I'm at an island now and it is really cool and beautiful but wifi is hard to come by. I will be here until Sunday.

image.png

I took this picture right after dinner today around 7pm. The moon was just starting to come up. It's hard to find green grass in Korea, but this island has a ton of it and little deer peep in and out of the woods. I will try to get a picture of one tomorrow... but they are shy.

How wonderful that you are on that pretty, green island! Hope you get a pic of the deer! Enjoy!

Thank you. I couldn't get a picture of the deer this morning but my friend got a picture of the stars last night with his galaxy 8 at 15 second exposure. We don't usually see stars in Seoul but the island was shining with stars last night. Maybe I will write a poem later and share it.

1532059391304.jpeg

Nice!

Wow! outstanding butterfly photos @violetmed!!
So cool to see the chrysali and freshly hatched
Flying Flowers!! butterfly2018july20th8.png

I'm glad you appreciate these photos!

The Giant Swallowtail is stunning! Great shots dear! ;)

Thank you so much!

The hanging pupae are so neat lined up in a row as the butterflies slowly come alive. Great photography. 🐓🐓

Thank you, I love those shots also!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83