Picking up trash in the beach... as a therapeutic activity?!?!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature6 years ago

Hello steemit family.

I'm always very open with what's going on my life, and the last few weeks I put myself into a little dark hole, mostly because it's been stormy outside for the last 3 weeks and the lack of physical activity, combined with being closed indoors, has been driving me insane.

Today, I got a little break on the weather, so I decided to go pick trash in the beach. It's something that I do frequently, mostly after big sea storms. I help clean out the oceans and the beaches, but mostly I do it for selfish reasons. I do it as a form of therapeutic activity!

P_20180312_155915_vHDR_Auto_HP.jpg
Found this heart shaped glasses in the beach, they looked like they have been inside the ocean for a while!

So as awkward at it may sound, the cleaning process does boost my dopamine. I feel accomplished on the end, at I do feel a big boost also of confidence. I can clearly say, that was a night to day change inside me! Even the creativity for writing and video, immediately got affected and all sort of ideas started popping in!

P_20180312_155209_vHDR_Auto.jpg
Sea life killers, this tiny bits of plastic.

The other reason, is the finds that you do while picking up trash. Sunglasses are clearly on the top. Toys come second. A couple of destroyed cellphones. The clinging part is noticing that fishing supplies are 90% of the trash on the beach, specially nylon cords which I absolutely despise.

P_20180312_155312_vHDR_Auto.jpg

P_20180312_162020_vHDR_Auto.jpg

P_20180312_163818_vHDR_Auto.jpg
This teddy bear have seen better days!

P_20180312_164112_vHDR_Auto_HP.jpg
One hour of work.

So try it out, do something for the environment and for yourself!

Vegan Tales.

Sort:  

Great job!
I know the feeling :) It's so gooooood :)

true! much love!

what u r doing is beautiful !

thank you! much love and light!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61430.70
ETH 3318.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49