You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thirsty for Knowledge Thursday #1 - If You Don't Know, Now You Know...

in #nature7 years ago

Hi, @kiristin! First off; great photos! I'm really looking forward to reading your Thirsty for Knowledge Thursday post series. There's nothing better than learning new stuff here on Steemit :)

I love the spring ephemerals myself; it's really special when the first flowers show up in spring. The first typical flowers to pop up here in Norway is Tussilago farfara and Hepatica nobilis, but it's still way too early for them here, and we need to wait until March or April.

DSC_0612.JPG
Hepatica nobilis from the spring of 2017.

What I really like about the spring ephemerals is that they aren't really that competitive, and would easily be outcompeted by "stronger" plants if they had grown later, so therefore they need to complete most of their life cycle before the other plants even begin theirs.

Best regards from @valth

Sort:  

You're quite right about them not having to compete. I didn't even think of that aspect (silly me!). Another reason to admire them. I love you have these in Norway and you have a picture to share! So neat!

...it's still way too early for them here, and we need to wait until March or April.

We have had the warmest February on record this year. We have shattered records nearly everyday this past week. This happened last February, as well. It seems our Winters get shorter and shorter every year. It is still technically winter for another month and it could still freeze in April. I hope for the sake of the farmers it stays mild for the next few weeks.
Thanks so much for the thoughtful comment! I am excited to finally have a direction to head in with my blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56085.77
ETH 2369.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31