You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A study of mesopelagic fish found that 73 % of them had plastic in their gut!

in #nature6 years ago

Thanks for your comment!

I personally try to do my best with not wasting plastic, but I stumbled onto a pretty stupid problem when I tried to use only reusable bags; I needed to buy other plastic bags to throw my garbage away. I couldn't even find any biodegradable plastic bags that was the correct size, so I am kind of stuck to using plastic grocery bags.. So the only thing I can do is to try my best to not get any more then I need, and rather use a reusable bag if I end up with too many plastic bags at one point. I find this system to be pretty stupid, but hopefully we will be able to use more environmental-friendly options in the future.

When I go on hikes with my nieces and nephews, I pick up trash others have left behind on the trail.

That's great! I think small things like this can really shape how they care for the environment and nature itself when they grow up, so I'm all for educating the children with these issues. I believe one of the major reasons why I'm really advocating a more sustainable future has a lot to do with the fact that I grew up during a time where all children were urged to do beach cleanings, learn about the problems of pollution etc.

Again, thanks for a great comment, @kiristin!

Sort:  

I personally try to do my best with not wasting plastic, but I stumbled onto a pretty stupid problem when I tried to use only reusable bags; I needed to buy other plastic bags to throw my garbage away. I couldn't even find any biodegradable plastic bags that was the correct size, so I am kind of stuck to using plastic grocery bags.

I too have that problem. You would think they would make biodegradable garbage bags. I have my fair share of plastic bags and reuse them for instances like smaller trash bags, cat litter box cleaning and dog waste when walking. It is not perfect but reusing them makes it not so wasteful, I think.

I believe one of the major reasons why I'm really advocating a more sustainable future has a lot to do with the fact that I grew up during a time where all children were urged to do beach cleanings, learn about the problems of pollution etc.

This rings true with me. My parents always picked up others trash when we would go on outdoor outings, my dad would take me to the recycling facility with his cans and then give me the money from his cans. At five years knowing I could get money for recycling meant a lot LOL.

I too have that problem. You would think they would make biodegradable garbage bags. I have my fair share of plastic bags and reuse them for instances like smaller trash bags, cat litter box cleaning and dog waste when walking. It is not perfect but reusing them makes it not so wasteful, I think.

Yeah, that sounds reasonable. If everyone was doing this, we would certainly be able to reduce the overall plastic production, so this is a good habit to have!

This rings true with me. My parents always picked up others trash when we would go on outdoor outings, my dad would take me to the recycling facility with his cans and then give me the money from his cans. At five years knowing I could get money for recycling meant a lot LOL.

That's a nice story! I think the incentive to return cans and get paid a little bit for it can be very nice for children, but it could also lead them to think along the lines of not caring about returning the non-paid waste. But I definitely think it has a net benefit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44