Celebrate Earth Hour today by turning off your lights at 20:30

in #nature6 years ago

Today is the annual Earth Hour celebration, and I had completely forgot about it until I saw a notification on my tablet just a few hours ago. Anyway, this is a great event that I really like, and I will certainly be participating later tonight. Hopefully some of you are joining as well, and if you don't know what it is, then keep on reading.

What exactly is Earth Hour?

Earth Hour began in Sydney in 2007 where it was a symbolic lights-out event to raise awareness for the environment and all the challenges it is facing. Ever since it has kept growing, and it is now a world-wide event that is held every single year.

Anyone can participate by simply turning off all your electric lights at 20:30 tonight, and keeping it off for one hour. I now realize that some of you might live in a place where the time has already passed, and in that case I'm sorry that I didn't post this earlier. It's 8.30 in local time, so the event is held pretty much constantly around the world today.

Anyway, keep the lights off for an entire hour to show your symbolic support for the issues the environment is facing because of climate change and other man-made problems, and join in on the conversation on how we can create a better, more sustainable future together.

For people who live in larger cities, there could potentially be an Earth Hour event somewhere close, which would probably be really cool to attend. You can look for events close to you by following this link.

The Earth Hour event is hosted by WWF, but is registered as an independent charity. However, it is really a grassroots movement that people organically joined after the event in Sydney back in 2007.

Connect2Earth

This year's slogan is #Connect2Earth, and it is all about creating a sustainable future by changing the way we act. The focus is on getting everyone to be aware of their actions and how it affects the environment, and hopefully some people will even take a closer look at this and change some habits for the better.

Over 3,100 landmarks are joining in

Not only can we regular people join Earth Hour, but big landmarks such as the Big Ben and the Eiffel Tower will join in by turning off their lights at 8.30PM tonight. This has a huge symbolic value in my opinion, and is a great source for media coverage of the event.


Rome Colosseum turned off the lights for earth hour. The photo is from Earth Hour 2008. Image by saveourclimate, posted with the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license.

Thanks for reading

I hope some of you plan on joining Earth Hour today. I plan on turning off all lights and rather use candles for the duration of the event, which also makes for a really nice and cozy night. Let me know if you plan on joining tonight, or if you joined earlier (for those of you who are past 8.30PM).

Sort:  

We are with you on earth hour @Valth
Have been turning of the lights every year since it started.
It is good that we have this because in that way every one can also be a bit aware the rest of the year also.

That's good to hear @gyldenhorn.

Have you really done it every year? That's very good! I have forgot it so many times now that I put a warning in my calender. Hehe

More than the eco-impact, I love the fact that some monuments are participating in this event!

Yeah, it's really cool that monuments of this size is participating!

Instead of the usual turning off the light. We planted a tree as our contribution.

Let’s save MOTHER NATURE 😊

Oh, that's a nice way to join in on the Earth Hour event! What a cool idea :D

Nice! We have already joined Earth Hour yesterday and it feels very great. 🌸

That's great! I'm glad to hear that so many Steemians have been joining in ;)

Of course we need to give back to our environment. 🌸

Earth hour is really good to take action to save Earth and especially our environment.I wish Earth hour should be celebrated worldly and I should also celebate it...

Yeah, it's a great event. I'm glad to hear that you might be joining in :)

It's a great chance for us to give back the environment, the freshness.
Which is lost somewhere in our dust of factories etc.

Yeah, at least symbolically. We still need to do something more if we really want to help the environment.

yeah, you are the right brother.

Turning off all lights and rather use candles for the duration of the even is the best idea of celebrating earthhour. I added one another celebration...we can use some Placard to celebrating earthhour...@valth

Cool, I'm glad you decided to join!

we can use some Placard to celebrating earthhour

Good idea. It's an event held by the people, so anyone could potentially set up a placard themselves if they want to. But next year I will hopefully remember to make the Earth Hour post a little bit earlier, so everyone has some more time to prepare ;)

I agree with this and i think its a challenge for people who use lights all of the time.

Hehe, yeah, it might be a challenge for them. I mean, it will be for me as well, because it will be pitch black outside by 20:30, so I need candles to even see anything :P

good post, thank you for the information about the light of the moment light. please pollbac me.

I'm glad you liked it. What is pollbac?

We are celebrating it since 2 days, i mean electricity is completely cut-off in my area.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54336.36
ETH 2283.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34