Travelman Thailand: Wildlife on the side of the road on Ko Lanta- Four foot lizard, big millipede, and a loving cow.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

So there I was... Danger was everywhere, deep in the bush, the jungles of Southeast Asia... on my way to Seven Eleven for a pair of fingernail clippers, five yards from the street, and I had an encounter with the wild.

I went for a walk to the main road to find a pair of fingernail clippers but I found wildlife on my way. My hostel is down a seldom trafficked side street that goes to the beach. I came around the corner of the road and spotted a three foot lizard (maybe a little bigger than that) in the street. I scrambled to retrieve my camera from my bag, all the while chanting the mantra, "please don't leave, please don't leave" Just as I got into my camera app, the lizard scurried away and into the creek. I thought that was the last I'd see of him. I was wrong. On my way back (I found nail clippers!) I spotted him in a tree....

IMG_0559.JPG

IMG_0560.JPG

I looked him up on line. It's a monitor lizard. It's in the same genus as the Komodo dragon. The hostel worker said it was a "wallander" (phonetic spelling) and that they eat smelly things. I'll be sure to shower before my next trip down the road...

IMG_0568.JPG

IMG_0567.JPG

IMG_0565.JPG

I waded through the weeds to get a better shot and found these guys as well...

IMG_0570.JPG

IMG_0569.JPG

Here's a twenty second video of both of them..

Cow Cow Cow! And here's a cow on the side of the road that startled me by mooing at me. It was actually calling out to its owner coming from across the street. In the 15 second video, you can see the cow (bull? It has horns, didn't look under the hood.) nuzzled up against it's owner as he put some water down...

.
.

. . All in a walk to the local Seven Eleven!
Sort:  

That’s quite the lizard!

Stunning post and nice click photo💕
always be happy and keep it up

I'm sorry you stun so easily. Perhaps I should pull back a bit, I don't want you to go into shock. Thanks for the hyperbolic comment though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51